Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very Good!! I made this "my way" but still credit the author for the submission and idea. I used 3 cups carrots and 1 cup granny smith apple. I did not have any nutmeg, so I used allspice instead ,plus, I added 1 tbs. ginger along with the listed spices. I used splenda, instead of sugar. 1 cup only. In place of two whole eggs, I used one egg and two egg whites. 1/4 cup smart balance omega light, buttery spread (this only has 40 calories per tbls) and another 1/4 cup oil to make up the half cup oil called for. I toasted my walnuts in my toaster oven. This gives it a more robust flavor, I think. I put all my wet ingredients in the bowl first, fruit veggies and all, then added the flour, spices, etc. I lined the bottom of the baking dish with pineapple rings that are not sweetened, then poured a little of the pineapple juice in the batter to moisten it better. Placed batter on top of pineapple and baked for 40 minutes at 325. Let cool then made cream cheese frosting with fat-free cream cheese, splenda, fat and sugar free cool whip, vanilla extract.. then ate...yum, yum !!This is so rich tasting, no one would ever guess that I had made these substitutions from the taste! My hubbie loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I found that the recipe doesn't have a lot of liquid ingredients to actually make a batter. I followed the recipe to a "T" but I found myself adding milk to it to make it into a batter. The end result was still very good I will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is GREAT! What I love is that it's so versatile - I used about 5 apples and 2 carrots, used a little less than half the sugar called for, and substituted half of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat. The cake came out amazing. It's perfect for breakfast and everyone in my house is gobbling it up. Its neither too moist or too dry for the amount of oil and juices in it. Any kind of frosting or glaze would be yummy to make it more of a dessert, but I love this cake just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Delicious and moist, easy to make. Like many others I used half carrot half apple, and I omitted the walnuts and added a dash of vanilla essence. Also, I found that my mixture was a bit too dough-like so I added maybe a couple of tablespoons of milk, but I think that was just because I used too much flour. Plus, it's healthy(ish)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Pretty tasty cake. I used half apples and half carrots to yield the 4 cups of shredded fruits and/or veggies. I also added about a tablespoon of dried ginger (fresh would be great too) which is a wonderful flavor with both apples and carrots. I do agree that the final product was slightly overly wet. Next time I will let the veggies sit for about a half of an hour and squeeze out and remove about half of the excess liquid. You need a little of the liquid because the batter is quite dry before adding the veggies. I topped it with a drizzled hard vanilla glaze, but would be good with just dusting with powdered sugar, some plain or flavored whipped cream, cream cheese icing, or just by itself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I LOVE this cake! I made it for 9 servings so it could fit in a loaf pan (which took longer to cook by about 20 min.). I used 1 apple and 2 carrots, reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, and added raisins, a bit of vanilla and flax seeds and sunflower seeds instead of walnuts. It added a bit of a nutty flavour and texture and was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I made a version of this (3 cups of apple, 1 cup of carrot) into cupcakes (I made 24, but some of them were pretty small) with cream cheese frosting and they were oh-so-good. The cupcakes were moist and not too sweet. I think I'd try adding a little vanilla next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
really great! I make it all the time...so easy and good! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Living In: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I like this recipe because it is so versatile. I use the zucchini and whole wheat flour and it turns out good. I think it needs to be baked longer though because it stays so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Cake was very moist. I chose to cook at a lower temperature (325) for about an hour. It was still very moist, but would've been okay if cooked for another 5 or so minutes. I used raw cane sugar and honey instead of white sugar. I didn't have any vegetable oil and didn't want to use butter, so I used Olive Oil (only kind of oil I had) Will use recipe again and experiment with different vegetables. Very yummy, if you like spice/sponge cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States