Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Really easy and fast to make. I only used 1 cup of sugar, and it was sweet enough for me. I used 1 granny smith apple, and one very large carrot. It was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is a quick and easy recipe. I love it and the family loved it. I made it with fresh carrots from the garden and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this with the zucchini and my boys who are very picky loved it. If people would follow the recipe it would not be too moist or too dry. It is just right and is exceptional if you frost it with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I like this and have been eating it for breakfast. I tried it with 2 cups of zucchini & 1 cup of apples & used some applesauce & 1/4 cup of oil & cut way back on the sugar about 1 1/4 cups brown sugar. It turned out almost too moist...so next time I might add a little more flour...but really has a lot of great flavor. I want to try the carrots next time. Thanks for the base of a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I think this cake is the best, without any revisions!! I have always made it with zucchini or yellow squash - maybe that is why those who used apples found it too sweet. I use this recipe because it uses so much less oil. I get compliments and am asked for the recipe every time I make it. I've always topped it with cream cheese frosting. I have substituted pecans when out of walnuts, or just omitted the nuts but find it best with nuts included. I want to make it with carrots sometime. It also turned out good when I didn't have enough zucchini to measure 4 cups, with only 2 cups or so. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margy
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Extremely moist and delicious! I made some adjustments to make it even healthier. I used 2 cups carrots and 2 cups apple, all whole wheat flour, brown sugar instead of white (only one cup, still very sweet), .5 cup walnuts, .5 cup raisins, and yogurt instead of oil. If made with all apples, .5 cup sugar would probably be plenty. Great with brown or powdered sugar sprinkled on top. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Great cake! Very thick batter until I added the grated fruit/veggies. I used about 1/2 apple, 1/2 carrot. Topped it with cream cheese frosting (made from this site). Split into 2 8" squares (was sharing 1 cake w/a friend) and had some for us too! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very happy with end result. I made with shredded baby carrots and I substituted half the sugar with Splenda. Made a very nice cake, not too sweet. Will probably make again and will try apples and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great cake! I used 1 zucchini and the rest apple. I iced it with cool-whip that I had added cinnamon and powered sugar to. My dinner guests were a bit skeptical, but we very pleasantly surprised. Even my 6 yr old son who refuses to eat any dessert that contains fruit asked for more! The only 2 changes I made were to omit the walnuts and use less sugar (only 1 1/4C). Will definitely make this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Family, friends and coworkers all love this cake! I made it with half apples and half zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States