Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Following other peoples notes cut sugar to 1 1/4 cups, was preparing these for work potluck so made into muffins. Made 18 extra large muffins. Stayed fresh in an airtight container for 4 days. Will be making this again, going to try and use as a cake next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dascotzman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I really like this recipe! I had been looking for quick bread recipes and stumbled on this. Several reasons why I find it great.I had all 3 ingredients frozen sepratley in my freezer from last summer, needing to be used. Also, this made such a tasty, healthy snack for my volunteer work at the mental wellness center. I also used Spelt flour, Pistachio and Pecan nuts needing to be used and raisons.My carrots were grated last Fall so they added to the texture quite nicely, the apples were also a thickened chuncky sauce as I did a lot of fuits that way last year. I call this recipe my "Clean Out The Freezer Tea Cake"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
VERY tasty but sadly while it was cooking I decided to run out to the store to get some cream cheese for some frosting and my hubby took it out of the oven at the 40 minute mark but it wasnt cooked through yet. We still ate it but it was very gooey. Will definitely make this again ( used carrots and zucchini) but cook much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I halved the recipe, and used 1 cup of grated zucchini and 1 cup of grated apple. (1 small zucchini and 1 small apple.) in a square casserole dish. It came out yummy, and beautifully moist. Like the other reviewers have stated, the batter comes out oddly dry and crumbly until the zucchini is added, but that takes care of it, and no extra ingredients are needed. Will be making this one again, so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Did a half apple, half carrot, it was moist and delicious. Added a bit of vanilla soy milk just because, and baked it in a parchment paper lined loaf pan. No mess, no cleanup, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this with pink lady apples, and it is AMAZING! It's moist, and neither mushy nor greasy. At first I thought the amount of nutmeg might be too high and might overwhelm the cake, but it turned out to be perfect! I will make this again, for certain. I also have wildly mischievous plans to try it with zucchini, carrot, and apple ALL AT ONCE! It's so crazy, it just might work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asmyr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I really liked this cake because it was very easy to alter to suit my needs. I used half whole wheat, half regular flour, added golden raisins instead of pecans and used applesauce instead of oil, measure for measure. i also found that the sugar measurement is high when using apples, as some reviewers mentioned (i haven't tried the zucchini or carrot versions yet, though) so i cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup. Overall, I was very impressed with this recipe and it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This really is a strange cake - in a good way - I JUST can't get enough of it. YES it is gooey, but gooey in a good way. The batter starts out pretty crumbly, but no need to fear that (and no need to alter the recipe), after adding the Apple/Carrot/Zucchini(mixture) it get's the right consistency. I found out that kneading the batter with hands, after adding the veggie-stuff, is a viable option, since my mixer always gets stuck in the "crumbly" batter. Hope this helps. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My family gobbled this up. I used all three zucchini, carrots and apples for the fun of it and it was yummy. I added choc. frosting and it complimented it perfectly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Used half carrots and half zucchini, half white and half brown sugar, half white/half whole wheat flour, added some chocolate chips and cardamom and made muffins. It turned out perfect even with all the changes. An easy flexible recipe for when the garden goodies start piling up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States