Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
very moist! made as specified, used 1/2 zucchini, other half green tomatoes, carrot and apples. next time I might even use a bit more flour, but this was very good,we will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I was at a friend's home when I made this recipe so I had to make lemonade out of the lemons she had. The muffins came out quite incredible. I could not add nuts so I added raisins instead. I diced a sour apple and added it to the batter. The tangy bite of the apple balanced well the sweetness of the raisins. It sounds like a different recipe but I found these changes worked very well. One of my favorite muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was the first ever zucchini cake I have made. Turned out so good!! Was a little worried at first because before you add the zucchini the batter is very crumbly, but after the zucchini is added it turns into proper 'batter' I also didn't have any nutmeg on hand so used 1tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead, still turned out great!! I will definitely be making this cake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gananoque, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used all zucchini in this cake since I have them stashed on every horizontal surface in my kitchen.... The flavor is great, but I find the texture a little too wet. I'm not sure if 1 cup of zucchini can simply be left out or perhaps reduce the oil by half (which I think you could easily do). I do plan on playing with this recipe because it's very easy and has relatively few ingredients - can be made almost effortlessly. And, as other reviewers suggested, you can be creative with the fruit/vegetables you use. I will also reduce the sugar the next time around. This is definitely a recipe worth tinkering with to make it work for your application.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is one of the absolutely best cake base recipes I have ever used. I added so far: bananas, apple-pie filling, squash, carrot, pineapple, peach, blueberry-pie filling; each a different cake of course! AND I am not finished with ideas to add. I will admit to using half brown sugar sometimes and I also use 1 tsp. baking powder instead of 2 tsp soda because the soda made it too salty. I often omit the nuts but that is because I am in a rush. I already know this by heart and make it for our BnB guests for EVERY breakfast. They love it and I have had to print out the recipe for them including my additions. So glad I found this recipe. I will never be without a perfect breakfast cake to serve. It freezes amazingly! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I can't wait to try other things to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this with zucchini and thought it needed something--maybe vanilla flavoring, a little allspice and less nutmeg. It did taste better after I topped it will cream cheese frosting. Of course anything is good with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This cake is divine. Perfect way to use up all that summer zucchini! We like to add cream cheese frostin to ours. This is a very dense, but delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
As a combination apple carrot cake - this is wonderful! Topped with butter cream frosting it is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used shredded zucchini and this cake was fabulous! Loved it! It was very moist. I used the Nutty Cream Cheese frosting from this site and it was a wonderful cake that everyone loved! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I tried the zucchini variation of this and it was much too sweet for my taste. I ended up having to throw the whole thing away because no one wanted to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States