Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made the zucchini version. I thought that 1 teaspoon of salt was too much. (Maybe 1/2?) Also would prefer it with 1 1/2 cups sugar (not 2 cups). Thought it was great with wholemeal flour. I will be making it again with the modifications :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Stephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
this is a FABULOUS recipe!! I've used it several times with various combinations of apple/carrot/zucchini, and with butternut squash and pumpkin, too. I decrease the sugar when using naturally sweeter veggies, (down to 1 cup of sugar when using 2C Honeycrisp Apples and 2C yellow summer squash) and also adjust the baking time by 5 - 10 minutes longer when using the juicier apples or squashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Cooked 4 nearly an hour and it was still soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Big hit at work! I substituted the oil with apple sauce and used carrot and zucchini! I under cooked it a little, next time bake for at least 38 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made it with zucchini, added 1/2 cup of water, substituted 1/2 flour with whole wheat flour, and 1/2 the sugar with brown sugar. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is a good recipe. I did add about 1/2 c less sugar and egg replacer powder in stead of eggs. We used half apple, half zucchini. It is quite moist and definitely didn't need more water. The veg content releases more liquid as it cooks so the batter may seem thick but as long as it's combining I think it's fine. Thanks very much for posting this easily vegan-ized recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
A great recipe to use up fruit and vegetable pulp from a juicer. You can use anything. My pulp from a few juices consisted of sweet potato, orange, Apple, romaine lettuce, celery, cucumber, lemon, and carrots. It still turned out yummy. You may have to add some liquid with this method. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made it with the adaptations that many of you suggested, less sugar, whole wheat flour, and it is great! I will be making this a lot...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This cake was great! But you do need to add a little more of the spices, and I only used 1 1/2 c. sugar instead of 2 c. and that was plenty. I used 3 c. zuccini and 1 c. carrots. Very easy to make - I used a 9X 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Love this cake. I made it with shredded zucchini but can't wait to try it with apple or carrot. I made it in 2 8x8 pans & frosted it with homemade cream cheese frosting - delish. I gave one to a friend & she LOVED it. The cake is not very sweet so the cream cheese frosting is a nice touch. I am sure it would make a good quick bread or muffins, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States