Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Peachy
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I've been looking for a reasonably healthy snack muffin, and these are wonderful! Made a couple of tiny tweaks (to satisfy my mind that these are as healthy as can be). Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with oat bran for extra fiber (you can find oat bran with the hot cereals at the grocery). Shredded 3 small granny smith apples (with their peels) and 4 carrots in the food processor. Ended up with more than called for (probably totaling about 2 1/2-3 cups) but put it all into the batter anyway. Based on other raters suggestions, added a smidge of fresh grated nutmeg. I was worried the shift of ingredient balance toward fruit/carrot might mess up the consistency of the final product, but they came out great!! I ended up with more than 12 muffins worth of batter, of course. Since I didn't expect much rise (with the added apple/carrot) I filled muffin cups to the tippy top and mounded the batter a little. Ended up with 15 muffins. As expected, very little rise - but mounding the batter gave them a nice muffin shape (see pic) and they were very light, had a nice texture between sticking together and crumbly. Just PERFECT sweetness, even using tart apples. PS - after freezing - nuke for 20 seconds, then 1 minute in the toaster oven - tastes just like fresh from the oven! PPS - DON'T forget to spray inside paper muffin cups with pam. I forgot once and it was miserable to get the papers off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Really good. Froze them and warmed them and they tasted fresh baked. Would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I just ate the first muffin, still warm, and it was wonderful. Love the moistness and the textures. I used Raisin Bran Crunch which is sweeter so decreased sugar just a little (I like sweet!). Also added a pinch of powdered ginger and about 1/4 tsp nutmeg and am very pleased with the result. Other than that, used ingredients as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is a very moist, very good muffin. The flavor is not strong and could use more of something, maybe cinnamon, nutmeg, clove or allspice. I will try that next time. It also made 22 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Excellent! And bonus, so healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Frugal Bungler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Excellent recipe!!! I used applesauce instead of oil but sprayed my muffin cups so they wouldn't stick. These are the best muffins that I have ever had. If you like carrot cake you will love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I orginally gave this recipe 3 stars but increased it to four after eating a few more of the muffins over a couple of days time. I decided that I like them more than I originally thought! They were better after completely cooled and even toasted the next day. I made a bunch of changes to this recipe, mostly based on reviews and my daughter's egg allergy. I used Raisin Bran Crunch cereal topped off with a little oatmeal, 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda, and instead of the egg I substituted 1/4 cup applesauce. I also used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, and added 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter. I got exactly 12 muffins and they were done perfectly at 20 minutes. The muffins were kind of bland and stuck to the paper when warm, but were much better later. When I make these again I will either try brown sugar or keep the original amount of sugar stated in the recipe and increase the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Wow! These are amazing muffins!! The ingredients only made 11 muffins for me, but other than that, they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Excellent recipe, I upped the carrot and apple to 1 cup each. Made them very moist and sticky, mmmm mmmmm mmmmm. Kudos to Taste of Home's for this excellent contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
YUM! Great muffins, very simple & easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States