Apple Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
My 4 y.o. loved it but the 7 y.o. hated it. I suspect reducing the amount of cinnamon would have helped in the later case. It was easy to make and tasted nice but seems to have a huge amount of sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I cut the ground cinnamon to 1 teaspoon & it was as lovely to look at as it was to eat . Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
very moist cake and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
You are right about this cake being very moist. It was super easy to make with our left over apples. Hubby and I both think it's Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This cake IS really moist and delicious. All my friends loved it. I reduced the amount of suger to 3/4 of what it says on the recipe, but it still was good and sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
VERY moist. Great recipe to use up my remaining apples. Unfortunately, it didn't get totally devoured before lunch when I brought it into work. So it's good, but I've had bigger hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Loved this cake!!! However I added a pinch of nutmeg, reduced the butter just a bit and plan to reduce the cinnamon just a wee bit next time. Very easy and delicious. Makes the house smell great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Very good recipe. I haved the sugar (like all American recipes - sugar content is waaay to much. It can be even lowered some more) and also substituted with honey. This would also benefit from some walnuts. Other than that - a great, moist / firm texture. I *will* try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Very moist and delicious cake. I used nutmeg instead of cinnamon, and added walnuts! will try to use 3/4 cup of the sugars, as someone suggested, next time. alos loved the BUNDT idea!Hubby says it tastes like pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I love this cake -- great texture and so delicious! I reduced the white sugar to 1/2 cup and added one cup of toasted, chopped walnuts. I also reduced the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp. and added 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg. The apples I used were slightly over ripe and I think this added more flavor to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States