Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was yummy. Only made a couple of changes based on some reviews. I used 1/2 cup oil and 3/4 cup homemade applesauce (McIntosh). I also used McIntosh apples in the cake. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon. The cake was moist and delicious...love the caramel type topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Loved it, and so did my husband and kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
When I tasted this cake right after I made it, I thought it was okay, but by the second day, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharonCompton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
One word .... SWEET!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Far too sweet, making again I would only use 1 or 1 1/2 cups of sugar and forget about the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is an amazing cake! I cut the sugar to 1.5 cups as opposed to the 2 cups and used margarine instead of butter for the glaze as that is all I had in the fridge! Overall this was soo good, recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This cake as written is like eating pure sugar. You can't even taste the apples. The cake looked nice until I put the glaze on then it looked to wet. I tried to take some the glaze off put it seeped into the cake. I ended up throwing the whole thing out and I love all cakes with apples in them but this was a total bust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is one of my favourite cake recipes. I substitute half of the oil for unsweetened apple sauce and omit the walnuts. I make my own icing (a maple buttercream one), then I drizzle smuckers caramel sauce and sprinkle skor bits on top. It is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
i didn't like it. i do like the topping but not on this cake. The cake was simply flavourless.I cut the oil in half and used 3/4 cup milk. It took an extra 20min to cook and then it got to brown around the sides. I wont make this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Arnett
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious and easy apple cake! Few changes: instead of walnuts I used shaved almonds and raisins. Also I added some milk in the batter, put less salt (1/2 tsp), more baking soda (1 1/2 tsp) and added 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder. Spices: 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 1/2 cardemon. About 1 hour at 160 degrees Celsius. The glaze is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States