Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was so easy to make and very tasty too. I made a few changes...I reduced the oil to just under a cup. I added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. It was perfect! The brown sugar glaze was delicious too. We will definitely make this again. My son really loved it and would have eaten the entire cake if I had let him! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This recipe gave me a great starting point for my cake. I especially appreciate that this is an actual cake recipe, as so many of these recipes call for using yellow cake mix! Ugh! For me, it was missing cinnamon. So, after I diced the apples, I mixed 1 cup of sugar (taken from the 2 cups called for in the cake batter) with 1 tablespoon of cinnnamon, then mixed it into the apples and let them set awhile. I also eliminated the nuts, because someone here doesn't like them! A terrific cake, I really liked the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I made this for breakfast today and it was absolutely delicious. I sprinkle just a little cinnamon on the top before baking and used pecans for the nuts. I had my daughters and father here and the cake was gone before the dishes were washed. I will definitely put it in my favorites recipe box. Thanks for sharing Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Like other reviewers I used applesauce instead of oil and the cake was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This cake was just what I was looking for to take to a breakfast at work. It was so moist and rich with the glaze. I loved it but a few said it was too sweet for them. I did replace the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This is a great recipe. I followed it but added a little cinnamon. It turned out fabulous. I will say it was a little soggy the next day, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it the same day I got the recipe from the website and both myself and my husband enjoyed it alot. It satisfies the craving for a light and delicious apple dessert. Great item for breakfast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was really nice. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. allspice, 1/4 tsp. cloves and about 1/2 tsp. fresh nutmeg. I only had one apple, which yielded about 2 cups chopped, but it was still fine. The cake has a very nice texture and the perfect sweetness; in my opinion, serving it with a glaze made it too sweet, so I'd suggest serving it without the glaze. The next time I make this (which will be soon) I'll substitute applesauce for half of the oil because the cake was VERY greasy. A lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Wonderful! Quick and easy. I add cinnamon and nutmeg :O) Even fine without the glaze. Gets more moist the longer it sets. Almost better the next day. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILIBEAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Flavorful, moist, just plain delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States