Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
They should called this a ghost cake. It appears and then it's gone. Took it to a church dinner and had one piece left. There were only seven people there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a delicious cake! A few things I would change: I used 6 tablespoons of butter that I melted in the microwave instead of the oil, and I added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon and nutmeg each. It came out great--the cake was gone within 15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was so moist and delicious! I noticed that it tasted much better a couple days after I made it because all of the flavors blend together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ThoughT
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Awesome recipe, but I have to try it sometime substituting some of the oil for apple sauce because this turns out to be a very heavy and oily cake. VERY good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoughT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
It was moist and the amount of apple is quite nice. I felt the need to add quite a few spices though. I added cinnamon, allspice, ground cloves, and nutmeg-- and they added quite a good kick to the cake. I also didn't bake it in the recommended pan size as I only had a 9 inch round cake pan. This increased the baking time to over an hour but left it with a nice brown crust. The nuts are a definite requirement in this cake because even with them the cake is a little too sweet for my taste (even though I didn't add the whole two cups!). I also added 1/2 cup of applesauce and reduced the oil to 3/4 cup. The icing/frosting isn't a requirement at all-- in fact I'd advise against it. All in all an excellent recipe with a few adjustments. I'll make it again if I have an overflow of apples at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by couvertdeneige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Made this for my friend's birthday :) She loved it!!! I followed this recipe except i added some raisins. I thought that it had way too much oil. you can see it all on top when it was baking. Next time if i make this i think i will add 2 tablespoons of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Loved the ease of this recipe and the results were awesome (note PAST tense, since it did not last but a couple of hours)! Searched for a recipe to use up some apples and found this one. Am glad I did. Took cake to a Baptism party and it was devoured with everyone requesting the recipe. Wow, what a find. Thanks, Deb. This one is going into my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Good moist cake. Some points: * WAY too much sugar. I cut it down to 1.25 cups and still seemed very sweet. * Reduced oil to 1 cup. * Used 2 apples and 3/4 cup applesauce. Could probably have used more. * Added: 1/2 t cinnamon, couple dashes of nutmeg, cloves, cardamon. Yum! * I baked it in a 11 x 7 in pan for close to an hour. Raised the temp to 370 for the first 40 minutes, which gave it a nice dark crust that is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Excellent. Moist dense cake. I forgot to add the nuts, so I just pressed nuts into the top of the batter and after baking I put on the cooked topping. It made an excellent crunchy topping. I'll make this mistake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This recipe was delish! I made it for my mother's birthday, and was highly complimented on it. And I ended up eating a LOT of it myself! A few alterations: I used 1 2/3 C sugar, an extra apple, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground cloves. Do note, for all of you who cut sugar and add applesauce in place of oil, depending on the kind of applesauce you use, you may be adding a LOT of sugar right back in. Try unsweetened applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States