Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I had apple cake baked for a hundred at a big barbeque and looked for a recipe for quite a while. This was delicious and I've baked it twice already. The second time I cut some of the oil and sugar, substituted 1/3 whole wheat flour and added some wheat germ, and it was just as good and healthier. This will be a big favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I really didn't like this recipe. I usually love any desserts but I couldn't even finish my piece of this cake. It was way too sugary and really greasy. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisner, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
The people at work couldn't get enough! It was a little dense for my taste, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Excellent, nice and sweet. I did use all of the glaze, waiting 15 minutes before pouring the other half on. I added slivered almonds instead of walnuts and 1/2 sultana raisins. I did use cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made this for a brunch, and it was a big hit! I added about a tablespoon of cinnamon just to give it a little kick, and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe ranks as one of my favorites. I do make many of the changes listed below: replace all of the oil with natural applesauce, use 1c whole wheat flour and 2c white flour, use 1c brown sugar and 1/2c white sugar, increase the amount of apples to 4-4.5c, add a heaping of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice, and I reduce the topping to 3tbs butter, 1/3c skim milk and 1c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I took this dessert to a dinner party tonight and it was a hit! Based on notes in previous reviews, I made the following modifications: used only 1 C oil, 1.5 C sugar, and added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp cloves. I made the caramel glaze topping but there was way too much of it. I only drizzled about 1/3 of the sauce over the top of the cake. Followed the suggestion of a prior reviewer to blend flour mix & oil/eggs well before adding apples & walnuts, and the cake was perfectly moist, not too crumbly at all! It was sweet but not too sweet for our tastes. Everyone loved this and said that from now on this is what they want when I'm in charge of dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My best advice? Double the sauce! Don't put it ALL on the cake, save some to drizzle over each piece. I didn't use any fat in the cake, I used only 1 1/2 c sugar (instead of 2), 1 1/4 c unsweet applesauce (instead of oil) and 3/4 c egg beaters (instead of eggs). I used 4 c chopped granny smith apples and added tsp allspice and tbsp cinnamon. For the sauce I used my tub margarine (only 6 gm fat per tbsp) and it worked fine! This was one of the best desserts I have ever made. It's REALLY good warm and if you run out of sauce, use ice cream or frozen yogurt, YUUUUMMY!!! I think the fact that it was made lower fat made it taste EVEN better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is the second time I have made this cake and I love it. It is a very sweet cake, but wonderful with a cup of coffee of tea. The first time I made it exact and it was delicious. The second time I reduced the sugar and it was still delicious. I have had many compliments on this cake. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This cake was a huge hit with my friends. I did try and add more apple than it called for and made the cake very crumbly. Stick with the amount it calls for and cut them in nice small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INUKSHUK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States