Apple Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was one of the best apple cakes I've ever had. It was so moist and dense. I added a tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the dry ingredients. It was devoured! Will add it to the favorites list. Thanks Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
My family and I LOVED this recipe! I did not put all the glaze on thinking it would make it a bit too sweet. I believe I used less than half....it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
4 stars as written, 5 with alterations! First off I used one stick of butter and 3/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce instead of the oil, that way its not only healthier but also less greasy. I also decreased the amount of sugar to 1 2/3 cup and increased the apples to around 4 cups. I also omitted the nuts. I've never tried the topping from the recipe but as cake I like to use cream cheese frosting, but for a "healthier" option I make them as muffins(no topping/frosting). Fantastic for breakfast with a cup of coffee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Delicious! I added 1 tbsp cinnamon and 1 tbsp of nutmeg, and skipping the topping to save calories and time. This cake is a bit heavier than Apple Cake IV. The family loved it, it was gone in a day and I was immediately asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great cake and so easy to make! I've made some changes though: I've added raisins and reduced oil to 3/4 cup and sugar to 1 1/2 cups (will reduce more next time). I did need to add more liquid though to the batter so I've squeezed some tangerines I had around. I also added cinnamon and carnation and didn't add the glaze!The cake was sweet, dense and full of taste even without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This has to be the best apple cake I have made and tasted; did not change the recipe at all!!! Going to make another one today and freeze it so my family and friends can enjoy it during the winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Fabulous recipe...we couldn't stop eating it! I made it in two small bundt pans; put one in the freezer and kept the other one out for dessert and snacking. The recipe is perfect as is; it needs no adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
It's hard to find the words to describe how good this is. Tons of calories but if you're in the mood for a delicious fall dessert and are not worried about calories, this is the recipe for you. I made it in two small bundt pans; one to eat now and one for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
cutting down on the sugar and fat using applesauce in place of oil, reducing the sugar from 2 cups to 1 1/2 cups are great suggestions by other reviewers. this will always be my go to cake. i love one bowl cakes like these. i did add a good douse of cinnamon, as most reviewers were right, apples and cinnamon go hand in hand. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This. is. amazing. Need I say more? I did cut back on the sugar a smidge in the batter, and added cinnamon because I love it. Oh my.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States