Apple Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
It was very moist and fluffy-good, not great. Beat for 5 minutes-15 minutes is over the top. Used 1 3/4 C of sugar because I was using sweet apples. Cooked in 45 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
When I first read this recipe, I had my doubts-5 SLICED apples, 4 teaspoons of baking powder and 4 of ground cinnamon! Boy was I wrong. Somehow it all came together beautifully. Moist, just enough spice and it really tastes like an apple cake. Put it together just as directed. Just added vanilla, caramel gelato on the side. Yum! I used pink lady apples which I pealed and sliced as the eggs and sugar were beating for 15 minutes. Perfect dessert for the fall season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
One of the best, easy to make. Keep for a few days and it is still juicy. I swapped the vanilla for caramel..really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I made this cake just last night. I used seven fancy gala apples and they were quite small. I followed the recipe exactly but backed off on the sugar by 1/2 a cup, and used three teaspoons cinnamon instead of four. If I'd been using a tart apple, like Granny Smith's, I probably would have used the whole two cups of sugar. This took sixty minutes to bake, and came out light and moist with a slightly crispy top. It's really good, hubby and I love it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Yes! Great way to use up apples. I halved it and made it in a 8x8 like some one suggested. Also added ginger, allspice, ground cloves, and nutmeg. Next time, I'll cut the sugar and sub half applesauce for the oil. And it can take a ton of apples no matter the size! Very dense and moist, just how I like my cake...DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe! I took others' advice; cut down on the sugar and oil. I also changed the spices since using cinnamon only seemed one note to me. I used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, I teaspoon ground cardamom, 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice & 1/2 nutmeg. Everyone who has tried the cake has raved. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made this recipe to take as a donation to the church for a gathering there....I heard back from them that it was soooo yummy!!!! I will make it again so that we can try it at home, hopefully soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I tried this and it is wonderful. My husband said it was the best Apple cake ever.i have tried several recipies, but this by far is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCCRAFT
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Such a good cake! I only have a hand mixer, so 15 mins seemed forever. But, approval all around in this family. I did decrease cinnamon to 3 tsp. only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States