Apple Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This cake was very easy to make. It came out great. My only complaint is for me it was a little bit too sweet. I think next time I would use a little bit less sugar and maybe tarter apples or soak them in lemon juice first. Other than that, the cake was a hit and it went fast. Also I made much more topping than called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aktifistri
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My first trial was also my first cake ever, turned out so well until I impressed myself! lol.. my husband and his colleague looked enjoy it too. Because the oven is small, I adjusted the recipe by using 1/4 of each ingredients, plus pour about 80 ml of milk. So far I tried 3 times already. Satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aktifistri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Fabulously delicious! Next time, I will substitute brown sugar for white sugar to sprinkle on top! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
made this for a family gathering,, everyone went back for seconds,,no left overs,,i followed the directions exactly,,,i will be making this again tomorrow for another family gathering huge hit with my crowd !!! ( i used Macintosh apples)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Matheson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was an easy, delicious, moist, and somewhat healthy "cake," though I did make some adjustments per other reviewers and my own tastes. I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8 pan. I used 2 apples, white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 2/3 cup sugar, 1/3 cup vegetable oil, and no nuts. If you eat this for breakfast, as we did, you can cut the sugar even more to 1/2 cup and I'm sure it will still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Loved this cake, easy, quick and great texture, and it's great to find a dairy-free recipe that tastes so wonderfully moist and creamy. After following the recipe faithfully the first time, I made a couple of small changes; I don't know if it was the apples I used (very ripe) or the sugar, but it came out way too sweet for my tastes, so i cut the sugar to 1 cup and continue to use very ripe & sweet apples and it works wonderfully for my family! I also cut the oil to a half cup as i found that it was more than enough. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was my first ever attempt at baking something, and considering I was working in metric without a kitchen scale, it came out great. The apples were very juicy, and everyone enjoyed this cake. I followed the recipe except for not using vanilla and cinnamon, both of which are hard to come by where I live...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
easy and so delicious -it got eaten so fast,I had to make it two days in row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolinas, California, USA
Living In: Amston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Oh my gosh, this recipe is absolutely awesome! I made the cake as written with no changes. I did although change the topping a bit. Brown sugar, butter, cinnamon and a little white sugar. This cake just like a good apple pie. I would highly recommend this one to everyone. Thanks Ann...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Fantastic cake! Loved it, and will make again and again. The only thing I did differently was reduce the oil to 1/2 cup and add 1/2 cup in lieu of the missing oil. Worked out fine. I used Cameo apples-- a sweet apple-- cut small from the local farmers market as well, which worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States