Apple Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've been looking for an apple recipe because I just bought a bushel of apples from a local farm. This was wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious. I will definitely make this again. I cut this recipe in half, made an 8 inch round cake, and 5 cupcakes. This recipe does not need any frosting. Though I do suggest eating this white it is still warm fresh out of the oven. A touch of vanilla ice cream makes it perfect :) If you are looking for an apple recipe, definitely try this out. It can be made into a round cake, square cake, bundt cake, or even muffins/ cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Whew best dang apple cake ever! That is not just my opinion but my co-workers and family as well. I did add 1 tsp allspice to punch it up a notch but even without that it would receive the highest ratings. I've made two so far and have had request for this cake over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is such an amazing recipe!!! I loved making it and I loved eating it even more:D My whole family loved it!!! The only thing I did different was I just added a bit of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homesteadcountrycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I absolutely loved this cake. I soaked the apples in part of the sugar and cinnamon mixture. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
At first I thought that the recipe should have said beat the eggs and sugar for 15 seconds, not minutes; but I did minutes anyway. So glad I did. The cake was light and fluffy. The only change I made was to use 1/4c of applesauce and only 3/4c of oil. I love the cinnamon being distributed throughout the cake, instead of just a layer of it. I baked them in 5 each 7 cup pyrex glass bakeware with a little leftover for a 4 cup bakeware. Changed the temp to 330. The 4 cup cooked 15 minutes earlier than the others, but the all turned out great. I plan to freeze 1 cake to see if it defrosts well or not. Will update with results. I made 1 cake without the cinnamon topping just to see what it would be like. The cake is great, with or without the topping. It's also good with a layer of powdered sugar icing. My cake was not as dense as the pictures showed, but I think that's primarily because I used 7 small apples and not 5 large ones (that's all I had on hand). The apples fell to the bottom during cooking. So I had a layer of crusty cinnamon, fluffy cake and then moist apples. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
So easy and SO delicious! Very glad I found this recipe...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My family loves this recipe. It raises nicely and is moist. I choose to add a little more cinnamon and nutmeg and don't beat for the full 15 minutes as stated and it still turns out fine. Sometimes I make a crumb topping or a glaze instead of the cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Super yummy apple cake and really easy to make. I had tons of apples left over from a trip to go apple picking and this was a great way to use them up. Definitely a cake that you don't want to eat warm though--it tastes ok, but can be kind of dry straight out of the oven. If you're going to make this for a group, make it the night before and it tastes unbelievable after it cools completely overnight. The only additional thing I did was let the cut up apples sit in some sugar and cinnamon to give some extra flavor and draw out the juice from the apples. Will definitely be repeating this recipe soon and with pics--it went away to fast the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
this is the best apple cake , consistantly good ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Neumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, New York, USA
Living In: Liberty, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Great cake! I made it for company. Was easy and delicious. Only change was brown sugar on top not white. Gave it a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States