Apple Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
The people I served it to liked this cake. I gave out the recipe 5 times but with my changes. I subbed applesauce for half the oil(to cut the fat content down), cut the sugar to 1 1/4 cups(2 cups is too much), the apples to 4 , and the cinnamon to 2 teaspoons. with these changes its a 5 star. I personally did not care for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
A very moist and delicious everyday sort of cake. Not too sweet - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Great! Delicious, easy, and uses a bunch of apples. My family couldn't seem to leave this alone. I used all whole wheat flour and it turned out terrific. I hope you enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this recipe for the first time on thanksgiving this year and it was amazing! Also good without the nuts if there care allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
FABULOUS recipe. I was skeptical about the 15 minutes, but I am getting ready to make this for the 4th time in a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Really great texture in this cake, but the flavor could be better. I took the recommendations of other reviewers: reduced the oil to 3/4 cup, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also changed the sugar to light brown (to give it a darker flavor) and added two tbsp of cider to give it more apple flavor. It would be better with some nutmeg and a bit of cloves. To get more apple flavor, coat your apple chunks in lemon, and then sprinkle them with extra cinnamon before mixing them in. Also, I mixed in half my apples, and layered the other half on top, and they sank nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I love this cake. I made one substitution, since it's fall, and used 3/4 cup of pumpkin puree in place of half of the oil. This cake is more airy than Apple Cake V, and was just as well recieved by the family. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this yesterday. My husband doesn't usually eat sweet stuff. He came back for seconds!! If I make it again, I will cut the recipe in half -- there's only the 2 of us and a whole big cake is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is our favorite Apple Cake!! So moist!! I never change anything in the cake recipe. It's perfect the way it's written. I do add more cinnamon and sugar on the top. Making 2 of these today and I am thinking of drizzling a little cream cheese glaze over the top just for a nicer presentation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Very good cake. Had to use brown sugar since I ran out of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States