Apple Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Really great texture in this cake, but the flavor could be better. I took the recommendations of other reviewers: reduced the oil to 3/4 cup, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also changed the sugar to light brown (to give it a darker flavor) and added two tbsp of cider to give it more apple flavor. It would be better with some nutmeg and a bit of cloves. To get more apple flavor, coat your apple chunks in lemon, and then sprinkle them with extra cinnamon before mixing them in. Also, I mixed in half my apples, and layered the other half on top, and they sank nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I love this cake. I made one substitution, since it's fall, and used 3/4 cup of pumpkin puree in place of half of the oil. This cake is more airy than Apple Cake V, and was just as well recieved by the family. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this yesterday. My husband doesn't usually eat sweet stuff. He came back for seconds!! If I make it again, I will cut the recipe in half -- there's only the 2 of us and a whole big cake is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is our favorite Apple Cake!! So moist!! I never change anything in the cake recipe. It's perfect the way it's written. I do add more cinnamon and sugar on the top. Making 2 of these today and I am thinking of drizzling a little cream cheese glaze over the top just for a nicer presentation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Very good cake. Had to use brown sugar since I ran out of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Nice texture and flavor. Best served warm.. Used tart Stayman apples. Don't like things too sweet so cut back the sugar by 1/4 cup and left off the topping. Substituted 3/4 cup white whole wheat flour for part of the all-purpose. Next time might chop the apples because the sliced apples were still firm so it was a little hard to cut through and get clean slices of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakestuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
i just made this cake and my whole family loved it. also i did dice up the apples small to make sure you get apple in every bite. i will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very delicious. I made a few changes. Per other reviewers, I decreased oil and sugar to 1.5 cups. Also, I substituted almonds for the walnuts. I also scattered more apple slices on top, which provided a visual improvement. Next time, I will substitute almond extract for vanilla. I am enjoying a piece now with a cup of coffee and a good book. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
i made this recipe twicw now. I reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups and used 1/2 a cup of applesauce and 1/2 a cup of oil and it came out great. I didd 2 T sugar with 1tsp cinn for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This recipe was great. I will be adding it to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States