Apple Cake in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is very unique. It cooks nicely in the mason jars, and it comes out in a little cylinder. This is great for gifts. I made it for a dinner club, and I received positive reviews. However, two people referred to it as bread. I can see why--it is somewhat similar to banana or zucchini bread--a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This cake is absolutely delicious! It is extremely moist and the apple flavor is perfect. My friends were a little put off by the idea of cake in a jar, but they agreed that it was great. I had to bake them for about 10 minutes longer because the cake at the bottoms of the jars wasn't quite done. Other than that, a very splendiferous cake, two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granger, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
A word of caution about storing for a long time... I checked with the jar canning manufacturer. They said there was a concern that the bread could grow bacteria. The internal temperature of the bread may not be high enough for long enough to kill bacteria. Plus, the jars need to be sterilized prior to filling as well. Thus, might not want to store for an extended time. The recipe is great and we enjoy giving as gifts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I made about 30 of these a few years ago as Christmas gifts, and they were awesome. My parents have 3 apple trees so I'm always trying to find different ways to use the many apples they always give me. It's wonderful they can store for a year-I might be making these again just for us this year and storing them for our use. These are absolutely wonderful served warm with ice cream. Yum! Thanks a lot Julie! BTW, I did sterilize the jars before filling and baking them. Once baked, they sealed well and we had no issues whatsoever when we ate some 4 months later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Moist and Delicious! I was a little unsure of the amount of sugar in this recipe so I used only 2 cups. It still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This is a great gift idea. I made them as favors for a bridal luncheon I had. I did make a couple of changes: I left out the raisins and I made 7 full jars instead of 8 not so full jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe is the best!! I made it in hopes of sending it to my hun in the army (since he'll be overseas for almost one year) and it turned out great! On top of that, the apples can be substituded for ANY other fruit you want to use! The long life helps me to not worry about my cooking going bad, since it take more then a few days to send. I recommend this to anyone, especially if you're looking for something to send your overseas special someone. I know this recipe will be well used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe was terrific. I filled five quart jars and enjoyed the little bit left over as a side dish for lunch. This apple mixture was very tasty and did not have one spice too dominant. I was pleased to have a variation on the "cookies in a jar" gift that I usually have on hand as an emergency gift. I was so pleased that I plan to fill more jars this weekend! Thanks Julie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I made these as gifts for Christmas. I followed the recipe and had no problems. No spilling over, etc. I filled my jars with 1 cup of batter, and after being baked they rose and filled the entire jar. After cooling, my sample jar was properly sealed, and the cake was nice and moist. I would recommed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I gave these as thank you's for Christmas last year. The ladies loved them. They were easy to do, inexpensive, and novel to give. They are great to have in your emergency food supply, too. I'll have to try the banana bread one next! I also noticed the "Cake in a Jar" recipe which shows how to use any cake mix. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States