Apple Cake in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My grandmother used to make a cake in the jar. She called it "company cake" for when unexpected company dropped in. She served it with caramel sauce. This cake is great. Serve with caramel sauce from a jar/bottle and it is less like bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Really simple to make and absolutely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
The Apple Cake is amazing! I am sending 140 of them to my group who is deployed for thanksgivig! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Has anyone used this recipe for sending to the troops?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul & shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was great. I used it as a Christmas gift to my family. I did exclude any nuts, due to it being a gift and allergy potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Such a great idea for neighbor gifts during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I never write reviews despite using many wonderful recipes from this website, but I just had to this time since there has not been enough reviews for such a wonderful recipe! These were so yummy, I couldn't even stop licking the bowl! I made a couple adjustments 1.) Used butter flavored shortening 2.) subsituted 1 cup of the sugar with dark brown suger 3.) Omitted the raisins. Filled the pint jars 2/3 and that was about perfect to get a full jar when they were done, needed to bake an extra 10 min. (give or take). I made one in a quart jar, but will not do that again since I coudln't get the cake out (despite being a wide mouth jar). Pints are better because they are truly straight sided if you use the wide mouth jars (and the cake can slide right out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is AMAZING I ended up having to bake it for an extra 15 minutes. I suggest just checking it every 5 minutes after the 45 minute mark. If you don't like your spice cake too spicy, I might suggest cutting back a little on the nutmeg and such. Over all, this is the best apple cake I've had, and the idea of baking in the jars is awesome. I have used the idea to bake all sorts of cakes and quick breads to send to my boyfriend who is deployed with the Army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Hello to everyone This is my first try at this site. I was a chef by trade most of my life. But, I went into nursing so I kinda got away from a lot of cooking. But last March I was in a terrible car accident and haven't been able to drive or work. When things got better I began canning. I had never done it before. It is fantastic. I needed to find something to do with the 75 or so pints of applesauce so I went on line and found this recipe. It was great so easy and very tasty. I adjusted the recipe only slightly and here is what I did. A. Used canola spray for the jars. B. Reduced the sugar by 1/2 C. I used 3 cups of homemade applesauce in place of the apples. I figured the Canola oil had less of the bad fats and it was so easy to use. I am using these for gifts and everyone I know is older and needs to wach the sugar so I reduced it. Besides the applesauce added sweetness. I can submit a picture of how it came out. My only concern is how ong it will hold. The Jars all sealed fine. Geat recipe great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefgym

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dansville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Very good! Almost more of an apple bread than cake, but everyone loved it. It's a little more work, but worth it. I think sealing them in jars keeps them ultra moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States