Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was a super yummy and easy recipe. I added the topping plus half. Hubby just loved it. I also cut up the apples into smaller pieces so that they could be distributed evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I made this cake for a party and everybody loved it! It was so moist and the idea of using apple pie filling just made it so delicious because of the velvety texture from the sauce. This is definitely going in my recipe book - tried and tested and WOW. Note: Reading through the reviews, there was a suggestion of adding 1 teaspoon of cinnamon powder to the cake batter and I tried it - I felt it gave the cake that smell and taste of apple cake! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have made this cake several times now - and it is always a hit - serve it warm with vanilla ice cream. This recipe is even better if you make your own apple pie filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I have made this cake 3 times now and must say that it is Yummy!! Extremely moist and simple without all the calories. The only change I made was that I used egg beaters in the place of real eggs. Will do this simple recipe over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
YUMMY!!! This cake was so good. I typically don't give too many recipes 5 stars. But this one was a home run. It was super easy, so easy that I was sceptical. I used cherry pie filling because that is all that I had. It was so moist and the streusel was crunchy and buttery (I used about 3 tablespoons). Since I was using cherry pie filling, I used slivered almonds in the topping. I think it was a great choice. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wants a tasty and super easy fruit coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Cervene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was wonderful! Very much like a coffee cake. My family gobbled it up in practically one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers by cutting up the apple, adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the cake mix and 1/2 tsp to the topping. It was good and moist. Next time I'll add 1 tsp each in the cake mix and topping. Definitely put pecans in the topping. Most of my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was a great quick cake! I read other reviews that the cake came out dry. So, instead of adding more pie filling (I only had 1 can), I added 1 tbsp of veg. oil and about 1/4 cup of sour cream to the cake batter. Then I followed the recipe from there. This tasted very good and was super moist. Also, it was just as good or even better the next day warmed up. I thought the apples were a little mushy for my liking, but that could be the brand I used. Overall, great, quick reciped when you want a yummy warm dessert in not a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Loved this recipe it is just great. Also tried it with a Spice Cake and it was also the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This recipe was a hit at a church function!!! It was so easy too! I did change some things via the previous reviews; Used spice cake mix, added 1 tsp cinnamon, used 1 can of apple (while still in can used knife to cut up into smaller pieces) and then added one fresh apple cut up. For topping, used 1/2 C of brown sugar and more butter and flour to make a crumbier topping. One time I did add oats in place of nuts and that turned out great too! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c4christ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States