Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe. made for work, alot of people asked for recipe. I agree with others it does need more than 1 can of pie filling, however if using 1 can i cut the apple slices in half so it distributed through the cake more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I've made this cake 4 times now. Three times using spice cake mix (absolutely divine!) and once using yellow (tasty, but my co-workers liked it better than I did). I omitted the nuts and in addition to the other ingredients, I added 2/3 cup applesauce to the cake mix. I chopped up the apple filling as suggested using a pastry blender and added the applesauce to that before combining it with the cake mix and eggs. I've also swirled the topping around with a knife before baking, which made it taste like a really great coffee cake. And it is EXCELLENT cold! So moist and so flavorful. I won't ever make it with yellow cake again though. Spice cake all the way for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
mmmmmmmmmmmm I made with homemade apple pie filling instead of canned and it was to die for yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I didn't give the recipe 5 stars only because like a lot of others, I used almost TWO cans of apple filling. It was just right. This cake reminded me of a coffee cake. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
DELICIOUS! After reading reviews, I added a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter, and I cut the apples in halves or thirds. I also used 1/2 cup chopped pecans rather than a cup walnuts. Served with vanilla ice cream and it was fabulous! Update: Today when I when to make this cake I discovered I didn't have any apple pie filling; I found a can of crushed pineapple and used that instead. I added about 2/3 cup of coconut flakes to the topping - - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This recipes was super quick and easy. I followed the recipe but left out the walnuts since family doesn't like them. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
this cake was the bomb. i made it twice the first time i used butter cake mix and the second time i used spice the butter cake was much better. both times i used 2 cans of pie filling. i gave the recipe to 8 other people that ate the cake they loved it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Super easy, great for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was a super yummy and easy recipe. I added the topping plus half. Hubby just loved it. I also cut up the apples into smaller pieces so that they could be distributed evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I made this cake for a party and everybody loved it! It was so moist and the idea of using apple pie filling just made it so delicious because of the velvety texture from the sauce. This is definitely going in my recipe book - tried and tested and WOW. Note: Reading through the reviews, there was a suggestion of adding 1 teaspoon of cinnamon powder to the cake batter and I tried it - I felt it gave the cake that smell and taste of apple cake! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States