Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I just finished baking this cake and the first thing that comes to mind is that the crumble topping might be added toward the end of cooking time because the topping sunk in during the baking and is lost in the cake somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleMyBelle556

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Easy and great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This recipe is very good as is; however, I did make 2 changes. I put half the batter in the pan then topped it with a peeled & chopped apple then spread the remaining batter on top. I also decreased the amount of brown sugar in the topping to 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is the best, easiest recipe EVER! When I bring it to work I get raves, people beg me for the recipe, I even get a few marriage proposals! I use one Mason jar of homemade apple pie filling, and it's perfect- just moist and goopy enough while keeping the cake mix light and fluffy. I think that's what they mean by "1 can"- there's a HUGE difference in the size of a Mason jar and the little cans of filling you get at the store. In any case, this is an ABSOLUTE keeper! Out of the last 4 I've made, I haven't even had one piece- it goes that fast! Many, many thanks for posting this recipe- I can't say enough about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I love this recipe. It is the easiest thing in the world to make and everyone thinks that you worked all day on it. Always gets rave reviews. Recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe. made for work, alot of people asked for recipe. I agree with others it does need more than 1 can of pie filling, however if using 1 can i cut the apple slices in half so it distributed through the cake more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I've made this cake 4 times now. Three times using spice cake mix (absolutely divine!) and once using yellow (tasty, but my co-workers liked it better than I did). I omitted the nuts and in addition to the other ingredients, I added 2/3 cup applesauce to the cake mix. I chopped up the apple filling as suggested using a pastry blender and added the applesauce to that before combining it with the cake mix and eggs. I've also swirled the topping around with a knife before baking, which made it taste like a really great coffee cake. And it is EXCELLENT cold! So moist and so flavorful. I won't ever make it with yellow cake again though. Spice cake all the way for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
mmmmmmmmmmmm I made with homemade apple pie filling instead of canned and it was to die for yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I didn't give the recipe 5 stars only because like a lot of others, I used almost TWO cans of apple filling. It was just right. This cake reminded me of a coffee cake. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
DELICIOUS! After reading reviews, I added a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter, and I cut the apples in halves or thirds. I also used 1/2 cup chopped pecans rather than a cup walnuts. Served with vanilla ice cream and it was fabulous! Update: Today when I when to make this cake I discovered I didn't have any apple pie filling; I found a can of crushed pineapple and used that instead. I added about 2/3 cup of coconut flakes to the topping - - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States