Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This recipe was easy to follow and delish! I omitted the nuts and topped it with ice cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Elizabeth Huval

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cecilia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
the easiest recipe. Cake was fluffy and light, topping was just right. Although I used a 2 oz bag of chopped pecans because I'm not a nut lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trissia Wilber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Excellent coffee cake! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Fun
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I thought that the original recipe is really good, but with my slight alterations, it made it a FIVE: In addition to putting cinammon and apple pie spice in the batter itself I also added about 1 cup of apple sauce (no added sugar kind) for extra moistness. Then, I made a blend of cinnamon, apple pie spice, and pecans (instead of walnuts) and set aside. Once I poured half of the batter into a bundt pan, I sprinkled the cinnamon/pecan mixture over the batter, then poured the rest of the batter over it. Once the cake was done and cooled, I flipped it out and dusted with powdered sugar. The result was a DELICIOUSLY most cake with a sweet/cinnamon/pecan swirl in the center!! Next time, I will likely use more apple pie filling, probably about 1/2 a can more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaliLama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Might be easy to make but the end result is a disappointment. I used Better Crocker yellow cake mix and Comstock apple pie and the result was a cake that tasted just like a plain yellow cake, very little of the apple flavor came through at all. The topping was passable but not enough to make up for the strong "cake mix" flavor. If you're going to call it "apple cake," you should be able to taste the apples (in my opinion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The simplicity of this recipe makes it as appealing as the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made this cake with homemade apple pie filling (used the apple pie filling II recipe on this site- use 2T cornstarch in place of tapioca, 1t cinnamon, 1/4t nutmeg in pie filling) It was perfect - moist and dense with a crunchy top. Only change I would make was decreasing the sugar to 3/4c in the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I took this cake to a pot luck last night and came back with nothing! People had second and third helpings and even took some home. The only modification I made was adding 1/4c of orange juice to the batter. This made it more spreadable and added a little citrus flavor. I also put this in a 10'' round pan, and it looked wonderful as a round cake. My topping did not turn out as crunchy as in the picture above, so to compensate I made a glaze out of confectioner's sugar and milk and drizzled it on top. It looked gorgeous! I also agree with the reviewer who said one can of pie filling was enough. I thought it brought more than enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
So easy and so good! My mom did not believe that it was a cake mix. I did have to cook it a little longer but I also added 1/2 a can more filling. Next time I am going to try only 1 can of filling I think it will be just fine. Other than that I kept everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, Missouri, USA
Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Fantastic...my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States