Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for a group and everyone loved it. The major change I made was to make my own apple pie filling instead of canned (apples, cinnamon, sugar, and a bit of flour). I used more than apples than what would have been in canned filling. Other than that I really liked this. It was moist and tasted very much like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MT Girl
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LMPereira1
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
made it according to the directions....no variations. it came out perfect. took it to a church function and it was gone very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This cake is really good, my daughter and boyfriend both went right back to the pan to get seconds. The topping really makes it good. Did everything the recipe said except for putting in the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter...TWICE...and both times it fell. As I was reading the recipe before I made it, it sounded to me like the sugar/flour ratio was going to be thrown off because of all the sugar in the apple pie filling. I was right and it fell. I even made it again to be sure I didn't do anything wrong and it fell again. I will try a third time but instead of using apple pie filling (who needs all those extra calories anyway?), I will use natural applesauce. Ought to be the same results but won't produce a cake that has too much sugar to keep it's loft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDOUGLAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Fast, easy and amazing! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Topping is yummy but the cake tastes just like a cake to me....it needs more apples and flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is so good and SO easy! Very moist and delicious. I will make this again, and probably very soon! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This cake was the bomb!!!! I used 2 cans of apple and added notmeg since I had no Apple pie spice. I drizzled warm cream cheese icing on top when cool = wow! My family loves this cake and it is SUPER MOIST!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is sooooooo yummy!! I took this out of the oven about 45 minutes ago and just tried a little piece to see how it turned out and it is fabulous!! the only modification I made to it was that I added 2 cans of apple pie filling ... I cannot wait until my husband comes home and tries this. I will for sure be making this receipe again because its super easy and sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States