Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I tried this recipe according to reviews that others have left. I couldn't make up my mind whether to try it with a Spice cake mix or yellow so I did both. (We have neighbors who eat the extras that we fix.) With the spice cake, I used 1 & 1/2 cans apple pie filling. With the yellow, I used 1 & 1/2 cans PLUS added apple pie spice to the mix. They both turned out great, either is a great option, however, we really like the spice cake over the yellow. Next time we make this we'll use spice cake mix PLUS 2 cans apple pie filling. Even with 1 & 1/2 cans it didn't quite seem like enough. The cake is great though and I recommend it. Edited to add: For those that really like a more intense flavor, the spice cake may be for you. The yeloow is wonderful as well. I might consider using less brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
My hubby requested apple cake for dessert on Thanksgiving and this recipe fit the bill! Per other reviews, I used 1 & 1/2 cans of pie filling, added cinnamon & nutmeg to both the batter and the topping, only used 1/4 cup brown sugar for the topping,left out the nuts, and baked for 37 minutes. Tastes even better after a few days in the fridge! I like to heat it in the microwave, but hubby likes it straight out of the fridge. Thanks Mary Ann!*******UPDATE***** Made this in muffin tins & they turned out really well! More like personal little apple cakes, but you can still pick them up & eat them like moist muffins! Baking time was about 30 min for the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I have been making this cake for three years, always just by the recipe. I was looking at again on here today and read some of the reviews. So I decided I would try the two cans of apples instead. But really I only used 1 3/4. The recipe is soo much better! What I think happened is everyone is just using the 2 cans and thats how they know it. But I know it both ways now, and the original way is fluffier, and not so gooey like the 2 cans is. I think everyone should definitely just use the 1 can of apples. It suffices. Also, I cut up the apples this time (never have before) and I did like that better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I love this recipe, but I have to say I added 1 apple and peeled, cored and cut up in bite size pieces and mixed it with the pie filling cutting up the apple also in the pie filling to bite size pieces. I also used the butter/yellow cake mix along with 1/4 cup of water, 1 tsp. cinnamon in the cake and 1 tbsp of mayonaise to moisten the cake mixed all together and poured it into a greased 9x13 pan with the topping you mentioned. The cake was so moist and wonderful I got rave reviews. I will definetly make this again thankyou for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Made this cake over the weekend. Followed the advice of other reviews. I added an extra half can of apple pie filling and when I make it again, I'll still add more. Also, it came out somewhat dry so, I put a cover on top for a few hours while it was hot and, by doing so, it came out VERY moist!! Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
Quick, easy to make, and tasty. Not enough pie filling, though. Next time I make this cake I will add at least half a can more of apple pie filling. Also, way too sweet. I will skip the brown sugar and just sprinkle cinnamon and walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I made this using cherry pie filling, 1/2 tsp. almond extract instead of the cinnamon and chopped blanched almonds instead of the walnuts. My son and husband begged me to make another one right after they polished it off! This was extremely easy and delicious. Perfect as a coffee cake for the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy (AZ)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Absolutely the best apple cake ever. Everyone raves about it. Have made at least a dozen times now. Great for those who can't have chocolate. I use the "premium" apple pie filling and add a pinch of pie spices. For those who don't care for nuts, use uncooked oatmeal instead. Turns out really well in a Bundt pan, too, made more like a coffee cake; double the amount of streusel topping in that case. My golden retriever puppy loves it, too. He ate more than half of a fresh one as it cooled on the counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
What a great cake! I made my own apple pie filling, and blended it seperately for only a few seconds instead of mixing it with the cake mix. I was looking for more coarse apple bits. I poured the cake batter in the pan, and then swirled in the apple filling. Then I baked it for 55 minutes at 350F. It turned out more of a coffee cake than a cake. IT WAS THE BEST CAKE I EVER TASTED! You must try this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Great recipe! A few modifications made this super! I cooked in a 9" round pan at 350 for 46 minutes. Enjoy! (We sure did!) Here is the full recipe I used: ***Cake*** 1 (18.25 ounce) package yellow cake mix; 3 eggs; 1 (21 ounce) can apple pie filling; 3/4 cup packed brown sugar; 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon; ***topping*** 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour; 2 tablespoon butter; 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States