Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I made this recipe using a spice cake and my family LOVED it!! the cake was eaten in one entire day. My husband is not a sweet eater but asked me to make this cake again asap! Thanks for this wondeful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl n

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolivar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
this was ok. it definitely needs more apple. i left out the brown sugar in the topping then found it needed something, so i did a drizzle of glaze (the basic powdered sugar, milk, butter stuff). this helped. made it more of a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
So quick and easy! A real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding an extra tablespoon of butter to the topping. Everyone who tried it LOVED it. I will definitely be making this again!!! I also baked mine in stone and it took 45 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Butler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I liked this hot with ice cream but it wasn't something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for a group and everyone loved it. The major change I made was to make my own apple pie filling instead of canned (apples, cinnamon, sugar, and a bit of flour). I used more than apples than what would have been in canned filling. Other than that I really liked this. It was moist and tasted very much like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MT Girl
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LMPereira1
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
made it according to the directions....no variations. it came out perfect. took it to a church function and it was gone very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This cake is really good, my daughter and boyfriend both went right back to the pan to get seconds. The topping really makes it good. Did everything the recipe said except for putting in the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter...TWICE...and both times it fell. As I was reading the recipe before I made it, it sounded to me like the sugar/flour ratio was going to be thrown off because of all the sugar in the apple pie filling. I was right and it fell. I even made it again to be sure I didn't do anything wrong and it fell again. I will try a third time but instead of using apple pie filling (who needs all those extra calories anyway?), I will use natural applesauce. Ought to be the same results but won't produce a cake that has too much sugar to keep it's loft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDOUGLAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States