Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Delicious with a few changes. For the filling I added a teaspoon cinnamon and a 4 oz. container original apple sauce. I cut up the apples in the pie filling. The topping I increased the butter to (2) Tablespoons, added a 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and a cup of instant oats instead of walnuts. Followed everything else as listed. Moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Easy and super delicious! Frost with coconut-pecan canned frosting. Make it in two square pans and freeze one. The thawed is as good as the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Been making this cake for years! Got the recipie from allrecipies site. Always a winner. Easy to make in a pinch. Can not got wrong with this cake. Suite almost all ocassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have made this at least a dozen times for my work and it is gone in seconds. Real easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ocdmom66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I just tried this recipe today. I didn't add walnuts because I truly dislike them. I substituted raisins and used carrot cake mix instead of yellow. It came out very moist. It was great minutes out of the oven.I will definitely make this again. I also wanted to try a chocolate version with cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this for my sisters and they absolutely loved it! I used a white cake mix instead of the yellow. I don't like yellow cake, it's too dry. I also make a simple powder sugar frosting, very thin, and drizzled it on top after it was completely cooled. What a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
After reading some of the prior reviews, I opted to use the spice cake mix and 1-3/4 cans of apple pie filling. I am glad I did. This cake had great flavor and was very moist. It is a very simple and quick recipe and easy to make. I will definitely will be making this cake again, as everyone in my house enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I didn't have canned apple pie filling so i used my homemade chunky applesauce, added sliced (2) cortland apples and added a teaspoon of cinnamon sugar. Followed the rest of the recipie. MMmmm! We had small scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side of the warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Excellent! So easy and the results are wonderful. Very moist and flavorful. I used 2 cans of apple filling and it was perfect. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is what I did for what I had here. **Cake** 1 sugar free yellow cake mix made the way it instructs because I only had (29oz) canned apple (pitched the light syrup in it) cut the apples in bite size pieces. **Topping** 1/4c + 1/8c sugar, 1/4c + 1/8c splenda. 1T whole white flour. 4T butter. 1T cinnamon, 1/4t nutmeg. I poured half the batter in prepared pan, sprinkled half the cinnamon/sugar/pecan mixture in the middle. Then sprinkled the rest on top. Is baking at this moment. **Next time I'll add the cinnamon/nutmeg right to the cake, it'll be evenly distributed through out the cake instead of concentrated parts throughout the crunch. Um yeah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States