Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I first made this recipe using a spice cake mix and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I used just the one can of apple pie filling (sugar free) and cut them up as suggested. It was wonderful! Even better the next day. I am now baking one using a reduced sugar cake mix, sugar free pie filling and Splenda brown sugar for the topping. Can't wait to surprise my diabetic friend with it. It may not be totally sugar free, but he will be able to enjoy at least a small piece and maybe freeze a couple more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy Lake, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
We have made this for several gatherings and it gets accolades every time. We add one peeled, cored, diced granny smith apple to the batter. We also dice the apple pie filling. Cinnamon is added to the batter. We usually have to cook a little longer than 40 minutes when we use the metal 13 x 9 baking pan or bundt pan. If you use a bundt pan and don't want an upside down cake, remember to put the topping in first, then the batter. Oh, and we use pecans, not walnuts. It is better to us when it's cold, so we refrigerate it after it cools and eat it with our coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MY2QTPEYES
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great recipe. Very simple. I followed recipe except I didn't have any nuts and I cut up the apples in the pie filling and added tsp. of cinnamon to the batter. Served warm w/ a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Kids & husband thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I got rave reviews for this quick-to-make cake! I found that one can of filling was sufficient. I'm not normally a fan of "cake mix" cakes but this was a useful and tasty timesaver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
too eggy for me....somewhat bland to my taste....didnt like the yellow cake mix together with the pie fillin. might make it again w/ adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
My husband and I didn't care for this nearly as much as I thought we would after all the rave reviews. Perhaps I'll try again with two cans of filling and use the spice cake mix instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My sweet loving hubby went crazy over this, but it was a little too sweet for my taste. Maybe I'll like it more now that it has been in the fridge for a day. Quick and easy, so for that I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
OH MY GOD!!!You have got to try this cake-I omitted nuts-wanted to be safe with the allergies,since I was bringing it to work-well,my boss said it was better than the dessert chef for teh restaurant we work at,and I know everything she prepares is from scratch....so moist,incredible-I only used the one can-however,I did add extra apples....definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Great recipe. I made it for some co-workers, they raved for days. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Delicious and lower in fat! Can't go wrong. I also made a caramel icing and drizzled over the top. My whole family loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States