Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Really good! I added vanilla and used half wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
as is I have to give only 4 stars with changes it is a 5. Used the suggestions for 1/2 apple sauce and 1/2 brown sugar to replace part of the oil and white sugar also added the strusel topping. I had no problem with it getting to mushy. All in all a great cake will make it again - and again i'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
A wonderful and EASY fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great recipe -the house smells fabulous! Followed the slight modifications in other reviews: reduced oil to 1/2 c.; used scant 1 c. white sugar and scant 1 c. loosely packed brown sugar. Baked in a bundt pan for 45 minutes (but I know my oven bakes fast). Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
It's a nice basic cake, but it's not great. I did use 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and added a bit more vanilla since I love the taste. But believe the reviews that say it is mushy after a day or so b/c it does get mushy! I froze half of it to avoid an entire wasted cake. Probaly wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made this exactly by the original and it is wonderful. I've made several different apple cakes but this is the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
An unqualified 5 stars!! (though I did follow others' suggestions and cut oil in half, made up liquid with milk, and cut sugar by 1/2 cup :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is by far the BEST fruit-type cake I've ever had! I changed one thing, and that was adding a small amount of brown sugar and cinnamon over the top so that the crust came out a little more crispy than what the original recipe called for! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I was trying to find a recipe for an apple cake, and came across this one, boy was I lucky. It automatically reminded me of my grandmother's recipe that was lost years ago. I did make some changes like some other reviewers have done, but it was so moist. My husband just loves it. It was so moist. I put confectioner's sugar on it, but it was not needed, as it was very sweet with out the sugar on top. The changes I made were I only put 1/2 cup of oil in and put 1/2 cup applesauce in. also put one cup of white sugar with 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also added allspice and nutmeg, as we like a spicier cake than some. It is a keeper in our house, and I WILL make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelphi, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Yum yum yum! This is so good, it reminds me of banana bread but with apples! But then it tastes like apple pie, but as a cake! When you first make the batter you think that there are too many apples but they get smaller as they bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States