Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Yum! I added some cloves, and did half white sugar and half brown sugar. When the cake came out of the oven I poked holes in it and poured caramel ice cream topping all over it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Just made this cake and it turned out delicious! Best apple cake i have ever tried/made. I used 1 cup of organic sugar instead of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and it turned out great :) at the end I topped it off with just a little bit of condensed milk and some side fresh strawberries. yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My cake turned out to be perfect. As suggested by other reviewers, I reduced my oil and sugar to 1cup. I added few chopped pieces of figs for flavor. Took 40-45 mins to bake. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made this when my in-laws were here for a long weekend and they asked me to make a second since we gobbled up the first! After reading other reviews I used 2/3 cup oil and 1cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
No idea what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Delicious!, i made a few changes, because I wanted it to be healthier...1 cup white flour and 1 cup of kamut flour...3/4 cup sugar (2 cups is excessive!) I then put about half the batter in a loaf pan, layered a mound of extra apples on top and then topped it off with the remaining batter. I mixed all the wet ingredients in a cuisinart, and the dry in a bowl before adding to the wet. Result was a beautiful apple loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I added 1/4 tsp. allspice, reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup, and reduced the oil by 1/4 cup as well. It was thick and chunky, but I didn't add any milk or anything because I trusted that the apples would cook down and make a dense, moist cake. I think you could halve the oil and it would still be awesome. I'll try that next time, because this was delicious - even better the next day! I might add nuts, too, and as someone mentioned, a dusting of powdered sugar would look nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is the best! My batter was also very thick, so I added about 2 tablespoons of milk. Instead of 1 cup white sugar, I added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
wow total flop for me. The picture at the top is very decieving. Mine turned out like a crumble and not a cake. I will use it as a topping to ice cream and that about it. I would definely add alot of milk if i was to ever try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States