Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I never made apple cake before, so I researched many recipes before deciding on this one. First time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. It was way too sweet for our taste and a little on the oily side. But I think that is a personal preference. Next time, I used one cup of sugar and half a cup of brown sugar. And used only half a cup of oil. It was perfect. I had to bake a little longer because my oven tends to be on the cooler side for the set temperature. I think this cake is more of a muffin texture for me - not a complaint, just an observation, I loved it. I say that because my family likes to eat this for breakfast than dessert. It never stays long enough for me to see how it tastes after a day or two in the fridge. I think next time I will half the recipe and make it in a nine inch round pan. Thank you for an easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. This was greasy. Too bad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Maccia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Here's the thing. The flavor... AMAZING! I'm giving it 3 stars because like some other reviewers, it would not cook. Even after 50 minutes it was still very mushy on the inside with a hard crust on the top. I think you really have to cut down the oil or something. It was more like a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Followed the recipe to a T . . . but unfortunately the cake came out mushy at the bottom and would not come loose from the pan. I cooled it for half an hour . . . maybe that wasn't enough? I found the end of the recipe to be vague because it didn't specify whether or not the cake was supposed to remain in the pan and for how long it was supposed to cool. I'm afraid to try this again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Really, I want to give this recipe 4 1/2 stars! Like others suggested, I could have gotten away with cutting some of the sugar and substituting 1/2 the oil with unsweetened applesauce. Definitely do not skimp on the apples; they may look like a lot while you're pouring the batter in the pan, but it's absolutely the right amount when you bring it out of the oven! Partway through I realized I only had about half of what was needed of the flour left in my pantry, so I substituted 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for the other half. (And it didn't detract from the flavor at all.) Other than that, this is a delicious cake that could star as both dessert and breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connies Cocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
You will not be disappointed, although i did bake for 55 mins and I also reduced the white sugar to 3/4 and also added 3/4 light brown sugar i also cut the oil to 1/2 cup as many previous reviews noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
We really like this! I cut the sugar by 25% and the oil by 1/2, but replaced the missing oil w/ 1/2 C applesauce. The cake is still very moist and tender, not ridiculously sweet, perfect with a cup of coffee & a great use for all of the apples we picked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Schumann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love this recipe but I do suggest either reducing the oil or replacing it with applesauce. I also like to lightly top the cake with a raspberry sauce at about 5 minutes before the cake is finished. This gives it an extra kick of tart sweetness and keeps the top moist. As it is, I give it 4 stars. With the raspberry topping and oil modifications, my family gives it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This cake was super good! Did what others suggested - cut down oil and used 3/4 cup. I also used 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 brown sugar. Like many others, I noticed batter is super thick so I did add milk, slowly, until batter was more the consistency of cake batter. I also added a streusel topping and it was delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KH622

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Yum! I added some cloves, and did half white sugar and half brown sugar. When the cake came out of the oven I poked holes in it and poured caramel ice cream topping all over it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States