Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
We reduced the sugar to 1cp, also used 2 bread loaf tins so the baking time was longer, SMELT GREAT!! Tasted great too!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I love this recipe. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and used raw Turbino sugar instead of white sugar. I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and left the peel on the apples. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
A good recipe. I cut the oil down to 3/4 of a cup like the reviews suggested but I found my batter too dry at the end. Because it was so dry I added some milk until it pulled together nicely. The cake turned out great and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight and enjoyed it very much. Have made similar cakes but think we prefer this one. After reading other reviews I used 1/2 melted butter rather than all oil and had to cut back on sugar some. Did not have enough apples so added raisins and next time I think I will also add some halved fresh cranberries. It has many options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Great recipie, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and used half cup applesauce and half cup oil. Also added 1 cup chopped walnuts. Yum !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe, not too much work. Mine took a lot more baking though, after 30 minutes it was well browned on top but not cooked in the middle so I had to turn the temperature down and cook it for another 25 minutes. I have an electric fan oven, but it is getting old now. Tasted delicious, especially warm with walnut ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bird
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is delicious and one of the easiest cakes I've ever made! I had to make a few slight changes (because I have a tendency to start baking/cooking without checking first if I have all the ingredients...) I used 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c non-fat vanilla yogurt and 1/2 c sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar. The texture was perfect, and the cake was super moist. I baked mine for 30 minutes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG this is sooo good! Very easy, and I just used one mixing bowl! When I saw the batter, I was afraid that it was going to be dry, but it was very moist! I did, however, lessen the amount of oil to 1/3 cup, the sugar to 1/2 cup and cinnamon to 1/2 tsp.. it came out perfect! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldisaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
it was tasty and sooooooooo tender and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is a good recipe. The first time around I used a low fat soy oil. BIG MISTAKE. It came out too mushy and couldn't hold shape. I threw almost the whole cake out it was a complete failure. BUT 2nd time I used 3/4 cup of Canola oil which worked well. I used half white half brown sugar. I also sprinkled some extra cinnamon on top, which was a nice touch. I baked it for 40 mins in a 10X14 (aprox) 1" pan. A little difficult to cut, but delicious and will be happy to offer it to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Dreams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Ikebukuro, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States