Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I loved it, my children who are suspicious of "things" in their food not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
really good way to use up apples w/ pantry ingredients. i halved the amount of oil, used 3 tsp cinnamon, and left the apple skin on. half of the batter was poured into an 8x8 and the other half was poured into a loaf pan. one for home and one for the hubs to take to work. i added 1 c of raisins rolled in flour (had some to use up) to the loaf pan batter. they were both done after 45 mins. after cooling and removing from pans i dusted w/ powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This cake was excellent! I don't understand the reviews that said it was a gooey mess - turned out to have a great consistency for me. But I did follow a couple of the recommendations I read.....1 cup white sugar & 1 cup brown sugar vs 2 cups of white and instead of 1 cup oil I used 1/2 cup oil & 1/4 cup melted butter. Once I added 1 cup of chopped pecans and sifted powdered sugar over it when it was done. I cooked it in a Bundt pan for 55 min. The batter is very thick, almost like cookie dough, but don't worry.....It looked beautiful, smelled wonderful and tasted great! Perfect for holidays and very easy! Two thumbs up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent! - what a way to use up apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is great! I did replace 3/4 cup oil with applesauce - otherwise - no changes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was very good and so simple to prepare. After reading all the reviews, I did substitute 3/4 c. melted margarine for the oil, and used brown sugar in place of half of the white sugar. I also spiced it up just a bit, with a pinch of nutmeg and cloves. My apples were Red Romes, and they did very well in this. I made a glaze of powdered sugar, milk and vanilla, and just drizzled a criss-cross pattern over the top. I will definitely make this again. Update, next day-omigosh, this is even better! It seems even moister and the flavors have blended beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulalalala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This cake does not need frosting! It's a very good autumn dessert that is easy to make and tastes wonderful. I made this tonight for my bible study group and got rave reviews from all! I replaced all of the oil with applesauce and added a pinch of nutmeg, 1 extra tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of ground ginger as suggested by other reviewers. This was wonderful and moist! I will make this again for sure, thanks Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This would be a five-star recipe if only it called for HALF of the sugar. I made this for a neighbourhood get-together and am so happy I halved the sugar. It was gorgeous with that amount, and totally sweet enough. A neighbour made the same exact recipe but followed it to a 'T'... I'm so happy she did b/c we were then able to compare the two cakes back to back. The one with the full amount of sugar was cloyingly sweet - way too sweet - and was denser and almost gluey. Mine was much lighter in texture, but still perfectly moist. I must admit that when making the cake I was a bit nervous as I'd never seen such a thick cake batter before. Don't fret - it is very thick but still works a treat. I will make this cake again and may even cut down the sugar some more, and will reduce the oil by 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was a really good cake and everyone that tried it loved it. I only gave it a four because the cooking time was way off for me, and it came out really ugly. I made a powdered sugar glaze to cover it up though, and it made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Didn't care for this one at all. Sorry. The taste was just missing something and the texture was not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States