Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
YUM! As was suggested in the reviews, I replaced half the oil with applesauce, changed the sugar to 2/3 cup white and 2/3 cup brown, added a pinch of nutmeg, used 2 large apples, and topped it with streusel (1/4 c flour, 1/4 c sugar, 1 t cinn, 3 Tb butter) that I put on halfway through baking. I split the batter between 2 9" round pans. Perfect and YUM! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIFFER2525

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Really tasty cake, but turned out a little dry. So I added a few tsps of apple juice to the batter. Turned out not bad! Made it a few times already and they all turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melody_xx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I loved it, my children who are suspicious of "things" in their food not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
really good way to use up apples w/ pantry ingredients. i halved the amount of oil, used 3 tsp cinnamon, and left the apple skin on. half of the batter was poured into an 8x8 and the other half was poured into a loaf pan. one for home and one for the hubs to take to work. i added 1 c of raisins rolled in flour (had some to use up) to the loaf pan batter. they were both done after 45 mins. after cooling and removing from pans i dusted w/ powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This cake was excellent! I don't understand the reviews that said it was a gooey mess - turned out to have a great consistency for me. But I did follow a couple of the recommendations I read.....1 cup white sugar & 1 cup brown sugar vs 2 cups of white and instead of 1 cup oil I used 1/2 cup oil & 1/4 cup melted butter. Once I added 1 cup of chopped pecans and sifted powdered sugar over it when it was done. I cooked it in a Bundt pan for 55 min. The batter is very thick, almost like cookie dough, but don't worry.....It looked beautiful, smelled wonderful and tasted great! Perfect for holidays and very easy! Two thumbs up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent! - what a way to use up apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is great! I did replace 3/4 cup oil with applesauce - otherwise - no changes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was very good and so simple to prepare. After reading all the reviews, I did substitute 3/4 c. melted margarine for the oil, and used brown sugar in place of half of the white sugar. I also spiced it up just a bit, with a pinch of nutmeg and cloves. My apples were Red Romes, and they did very well in this. I made a glaze of powdered sugar, milk and vanilla, and just drizzled a criss-cross pattern over the top. I will definitely make this again. Update, next day-omigosh, this is even better! It seems even moister and the flavors have blended beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulalalala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This cake does not need frosting! It's a very good autumn dessert that is easy to make and tastes wonderful. I made this tonight for my bible study group and got rave reviews from all! I replaced all of the oil with applesauce and added a pinch of nutmeg, 1 extra tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of ground ginger as suggested by other reviewers. This was wonderful and moist! I will make this again for sure, thanks Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States