Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I had to write a review after reading this recipe card. I have been making this exact cake for nearly 20 years. You can easily cut down on up to 1/2 the oil, and about 1/4 of the sugar if you want. You can also replace 1/2 of the sugar with brown sugar or bakable splenda. Yes, the cake get's alittle mushy after 24 hours, but really does it last that long at your house? Not mine! Finally, why are we peeling the apples? Unless you really don't like "crunchy" or just plain don't like apples, leave the skin on. It brings a whole new depth to the dish. Plus, you will get the health benefits! Give it a try. The cake is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBNITWIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Excellent bread--even pleased the very fussy eaters. Freezes well. However, I make some modifications. Reduced oil to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. Reduced sugar to 1-1/2 cups. Added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I used granny smith apples, peeled and sliced, which added just a little tartness, but any cooking apple would be great this recipe. When cooled, sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This is a REALLY delicious apple cake! I peeled the apples quickly w/ my Starfrit Apple Peeler. I cut back on the oil (maybe like 3/4 cup) and a little less sugar. As I was mixing, the batter was dry so I added milk. I added milk until the consistency was 'cake-batter-ish). I baked for 20 minutes then added a streusel topping I made (1/4 C Sugar, 1/4 C Flour, 1 tsp of cinnamon and 3 tbsp of butter). Baked for another 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. It's wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I had never made an apple cake before and someone at work requested it for a potluck, so I took a stab at this one and everyone loved it! I also substituted 1 c. of brown sugar with the white and added the streusal topping that someone else had suggested. It was very moist and tasted great! Everyone was asking me for the recipe! This would also work great with a powdered sugar glaze too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEELIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
I have been looking for my Grandmother's 'Apple Squares' recipe for years and this was close. They had a great taste but they were just too oily for me. I would go with one of the other suggestions on this board and reduce the oil ( and possibly the sugar as well. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I really liked this recipe. Instead of oil I used melted butter as I don't like the taste of the oil .. it was really good. The entire recipe was great and I will definitely make again .. very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I've been making this apple cake for many years and have never had it fail. For my own personal taste, I usually add an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, as well as 1 Cup of chopped pecans or walnuts. Raisins are also a nice addition. I usually use about 1/2 cup. The dough will be very stiff and require mixing by hand with a heavy duty wooden spoon. You can use a 9 X 13 greased and floured pan or a 10-12 Cup Bundt Pan. If using a bundt pan, bake at 350 degrees for 55 to 65 minutes or until the cake tests done using a toothpick or cake tester inserted about 2 inches from the edge. Tester should come out clean (free of dough). Also, if using a bundt pan, you will have to scoop dough from bowl and pack it evenly into cake pan. This is easy to do if you wet your hands first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Great recipe. Very moist. I added some spiced rum to give it a little more flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
This was a great cake! I had to keep checking the recipe, because it didn't quite look right (a lot of apples!), but it turned out great and didn't last a day in my house. I added brown sugar, then served it with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
YUM! As was suggested in the reviews, I replaced half the oil with applesauce, changed the sugar to 2/3 cup white and 2/3 cup brown, added a pinch of nutmeg, used 2 large apples, and topped it with streusel (1/4 c flour, 1/4 c sugar, 1 t cinn, 3 Tb butter) that I put on halfway through baking. I split the batter between 2 9" round pans. Perfect and YUM! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIFFER2525

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States