Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used half applesauce and half oil, splenda for the sugar and half whole wheat and half white flour. Since I grated the apples, I ended up with almost 4 1/2 cups of apples, but I think that just added to the moistness of the cake. The cake came out great, even with my little changes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. Great way to use up apples. I used Gala apples and they baked perfect. The cake is very moist, probably because of so much oil. We served this with vanilla ice cream, but I thought it really tasted better on its own. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Shelley
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Really good! I added vanilla and used half wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
as is I have to give only 4 stars with changes it is a 5. Used the suggestions for 1/2 apple sauce and 1/2 brown sugar to replace part of the oil and white sugar also added the strusel topping. I had no problem with it getting to mushy. All in all a great cake will make it again - and again i'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
A wonderful and EASY fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great recipe -the house smells fabulous! Followed the slight modifications in other reviews: reduced oil to 1/2 c.; used scant 1 c. white sugar and scant 1 c. loosely packed brown sugar. Baked in a bundt pan for 45 minutes (but I know my oven bakes fast). Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
It's a nice basic cake, but it's not great. I did use 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and added a bit more vanilla since I love the taste. But believe the reviews that say it is mushy after a day or so b/c it does get mushy! I froze half of it to avoid an entire wasted cake. Probaly wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made this exactly by the original and it is wonderful. I've made several different apple cakes but this is the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
An unqualified 5 stars!! (though I did follow others' suggestions and cut oil in half, made up liquid with milk, and cut sugar by 1/2 cup :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is by far the BEST fruit-type cake I've ever had! I changed one thing, and that was adding a small amount of brown sugar and cinnamon over the top so that the crust came out a little more crispy than what the original recipe called for! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States