Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Mine wasn't very good.it was very SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I substituted 1/2 of the oil with applesauce, used 1c. of brown sugar and 1c. of white,I used 3 cups of chopped apples, and baked for 65 minutes, then sprinkled with instant cocoa mix for a light chocolately top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This is great! Instead of 1c oil I used 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c dark rum. I also shredded the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this twice and still really didn't like it. My kids really like stuff like this and wouldn't touch it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This recipe is one of my families favorite. Every where I go with this cake; I 'm asked for the recipe. I started making copies with me before hand so I can just hand them out. It's a moist, delicious comforting desert. It's wonderful. Thank you for sharing the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Thanks to IBNITWIT who suggested NOT peeling the apples!!! It was a HUGE time saver and the taste is great! This cake is fabulously moist. I'm going to take it to the office because I can't possibly eat that much cake in a day or two. Thanks for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
As written, this is pretty good. Heavy for a cake though. Definitely need to reduce the oil, and up the spices. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. Ginger would be good as well as clove if you like it. I'm making this again this evening, replacing some oil with butter and reducing it overall in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
followed most of the suggestions, like less oil and sugar, and to add brown sugar and nutmeg,left skin on...i used my favorite honeycrisp apples and am not impressed with this. it is a little flavorless. mine baked in the 9x13 pan and was done at 40 minutes. not sure what else would make it better, maybe the applesauce and butter suggestions. at least my hubby likes it, not sure i am making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Marie Lenio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabasha, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I never made apple cake before, so I researched many recipes before deciding on this one. First time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. It was way too sweet for our taste and a little on the oily side. But I think that is a personal preference. Next time, I used one cup of sugar and half a cup of brown sugar. And used only half a cup of oil. It was perfect. I had to bake a little longer because my oven tends to be on the cooler side for the set temperature. I think this cake is more of a muffin texture for me - not a complaint, just an observation, I loved it. I say that because my family likes to eat this for breakfast than dessert. It never stays long enough for me to see how it tastes after a day or two in the fridge. I think next time I will half the recipe and make it in a nine inch round pan. Thank you for an easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. This was greasy. Too bad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Maccia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States