Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I substituted half the white flour with whole wheat (my secret ingredient), half the white sugar with brown, and half the oil with applesauce. Two good-sized Granny Smiths were the perfect amount. Shared this yummy cake with family, friends and co-workers. It was a big hit! Next time I might try a drizzle of caramel sauce over the top, or maybe add nuts. Any way you try it, it's DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This cake made the house smell delicious but unfortunately I found it had way too much oil and cinnamon. Most reviewers have suggested cutting back on the oil among other things but I made it exactly as per the recipe's instructions to make for an accurate photograph. I made it for my mum on Mother's Day and hardly anybody went for a second slice like they do for my usual cakes. I guess we are not big fans of cinnamon so I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was moist and delicious! My family really liked it and I felt good about them eating it because I overloaded it with apples and it still turned out great. My son said it didn't have enough spices so I will try it again with more apple pie spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
5 stars with alterations - 3/4 c oil, 3/4c brown sugar and 3/4 c white sugar. I also added 1 t mixed spice. I like this cake more than some apple cakes because it holds its shape well - it's not all soft like a German apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Well, I was kind of curious about what would happen if I substituted the oil with 1 cup of unsweetened homemade applesauce, and it still turned out SUPER! It was moist, chewy, sweet...my family loves this cake--and it didn't turn out gooey at all for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetie Makie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is delicious! The cake is very moist and my family LOVED it! It was gone within 2 days! I made a simple glaze to drizzle over top, which added to the subtle sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was delicious - very moist! I also used 1/2 applesauce for oil and 1/2 brown sugar for white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Made this yesterday for a birthday party, everyone loved it! My daughter (16) had two pieces before I even had the chance to serve everyone. My two year old nephew would take a bite then say, "good cake! I want more!". Used other hints and cut down on the oil and used apple sauce and also added struesel topping-this was awesome!!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I've made this cake twice in the last few weeks. It's very easy and sooo tasty. The hardest thing is peeling and cutting up the apples! The only change I made is to slice the apples instead of dicing them. Don't think it matters much either way. Oh, and I served each piece with a large dallop of whipped cream. Yum! I made it Sunday for my mom's birthday dessert. She is 84 now and insisted on taking a large piece home. Very very good. Thanks!....an update 10/06/08 I made this again on Sunday, this time I used a 1/4 cup less oil and I still sliced the apples instead of dicing. Mine took just about 38 minutes. Once again, very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
outstanding! Made it with changes suggested. Replaced 1/2 cup of oil with applesauce, replaced 1 cup of the two cups of sugar with brown and added 1 cup chopped walnuts. My cake was moist and full of flavor. Be sure to put in a dash of nutmeg and a bit extra cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States