Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
5 stars with alterations - 3/4 c oil, 3/4c brown sugar and 3/4 c white sugar. I also added 1 t mixed spice. I like this cake more than some apple cakes because it holds its shape well - it's not all soft like a German apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Well, I was kind of curious about what would happen if I substituted the oil with 1 cup of unsweetened homemade applesauce, and it still turned out SUPER! It was moist, chewy, sweet...my family loves this cake--and it didn't turn out gooey at all for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetie Makie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is delicious! The cake is very moist and my family LOVED it! It was gone within 2 days! I made a simple glaze to drizzle over top, which added to the subtle sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was delicious - very moist! I also used 1/2 applesauce for oil and 1/2 brown sugar for white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Made this yesterday for a birthday party, everyone loved it! My daughter (16) had two pieces before I even had the chance to serve everyone. My two year old nephew would take a bite then say, "good cake! I want more!". Used other hints and cut down on the oil and used apple sauce and also added struesel topping-this was awesome!!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I've made this cake twice in the last few weeks. It's very easy and sooo tasty. The hardest thing is peeling and cutting up the apples! The only change I made is to slice the apples instead of dicing them. Don't think it matters much either way. Oh, and I served each piece with a large dallop of whipped cream. Yum! I made it Sunday for my mom's birthday dessert. She is 84 now and insisted on taking a large piece home. Very very good. Thanks!....an update 10/06/08 I made this again on Sunday, this time I used a 1/4 cup less oil and I still sliced the apples instead of dicing. Mine took just about 38 minutes. Once again, very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
outstanding! Made it with changes suggested. Replaced 1/2 cup of oil with applesauce, replaced 1 cup of the two cups of sugar with brown and added 1 cup chopped walnuts. My cake was moist and full of flavor. Be sure to put in a dash of nutmeg and a bit extra cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I incorporated suggestions from multiple reviewers, and really enjoyed this cake. Changes: I left the apple peels on, substituted applesauce for half of the oil, replaced half of the flour with whole-wheat pastry flour, reduced sugar to 1.5 cups (using a combination of white and brown sugar), added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and added 1 cup chopped walnuts. The cake turned out nicely, and after leaving it on the counter in a covered container I liked it even better the next day! However, even after reducing the sugar I found the cake to be too sweet. Next time, I'll reduce the sugar even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I left out 1 tsp of the cinnamon, otherwise it's too strong, and I added 1/4 cup of oatmeal. Instead of oil, you can use butter for a nice rich flavor. I used the suggestion of baking for 20 minutes, then covering the cake with a crumble topping (1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 3 tbsp butter) and baking 15-20 more minutes. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Yummy, yum! I changed the recipe by using 1/2 cup apple sauce and 1/2 cup oil for the 1 cup oil and 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for the 2 cups white sugar. I also added a crumb topping before baking made of 1/4 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup ground flax seed, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup chopped walnuts. I was able to make 7 mini loaves. One of the best apple cakes I hae ever eaten. For the people complaining of the cake being soggy, DO NOT refrigerate this cake! It will be just fine on the counter for a coupe of days, don't worry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States