Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This turned out great very moist!. I did have to cook 1hr.10 minutes cause everyones oven is different will make again and add pecans and coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bread Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This cake is great! I followed other suggestions and did 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown, and also used less oil. So moist & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I didnt like this At all. I even reduced the oil due to other reviews and it was still too oily. I put this in a 9" cake pan and I had some extra batter, so I put the rest in to cup cake pans. The cupcakes turned out better because they didnt seem so oily. If you are going to make this I suggest making it as cupcakes rather than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this cake today for the first time and I was not impressed. The batter was more like "cookie dough" and when I added the apples, it got "sticky". Also, it took over an hour to get done. My husband didn't think much of it. I probably won't make this one again...I will try other recipes though. I don't give up that easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
All in all, it was a tasty cake considering how extremely easy it is to throw together. It also makes your whole house smell wonderful while it's cooking! Everyone really seemed to like this except for me. I guess because I am a "texture" person and I thought it was too mushy. I actually reduced the oil to 3/4 cup and I'm very glad I did! I would make it again sometime and either add more flour or cook it longer than the recipe says too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
this was a easy cake too make i took all suggestions offered and added nuts (1 cup) and sprinkled oatmeal on the top (1/4 cup) and added extra flour (1/4 cup) to prevent it from becoming runny. all in all it was delicious and easy too make...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambermarieireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This cake was so very good!. Good way to use up those apples from the apple orchard this time of year. I cut the recipe in half using the recipe calculator they give you and they dont change the pan size only the ingredients. I didnt realize that until after I greased and floured the pan but oh well this was still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Yummy. Easy to make except for peeling and dicing the apples- but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a great cake. I made some changes, based on some of the reviews: I used only 1.5 cups sugar (would have made half of that brown sugar if I had any), and I used 1/2 cup butter and only 1/4 cup oil. I also added pecans. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Excellent! Like others, I halved the oil, but used butter instead. I also spiced it up a bit more with fresh ground nutmeg and a tad of cloves and added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States