Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is a good recipe. The first time around I used a low fat soy oil. BIG MISTAKE. It came out too mushy and couldn't hold shape. I threw almost the whole cake out it was a complete failure. BUT 2nd time I used 3/4 cup of Canola oil which worked well. I used half white half brown sugar. I also sprinkled some extra cinnamon on top, which was a nice touch. I baked it for 40 mins in a 10X14 (aprox) 1" pan. A little difficult to cut, but delicious and will be happy to offer it to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Dreams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Ikebukuro, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This cake was really good! Instead of 1 cup oil I used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup melted butter. I also reduced the sugar by a little over a 1/4 cup using a mix of brown and white sugar and I think I'll use even less next time. The middle of the cake didn't cut very smoothly but the rest held together fine. I baked it in a 9 inch round cast iron pan and so the cooking time was longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
So awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Wow, this was really moist, delicious cake! The cinnamon really added depth and the moisture added by the apple was so good. I will make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
AMAZING!!!! Even after my attempts at making it a little healthy!!! I used wholemeal SR flour as well as the baking soda. I substituted half a cup of applesauce for half a cup of oil and cut out about half a cut of sugar. Really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this for the youth group at my church and it was literally gone in less that 2 minutes. One of the students actually picked up the dish it was in and licked it. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Delecious. Everyone loved it. Not a single piece was left. I added 1/2 ts nutmeg. No additional changes. Turned out great. Absolutly will make it again and agian. Very easy also. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This turned out great very moist!. I did have to cook 1hr.10 minutes cause everyones oven is different will make again and add pecans and coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bread Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This cake is great! I followed other suggestions and did 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown, and also used less oil. So moist & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States