Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Bird
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is delicious and one of the easiest cakes I've ever made! I had to make a few slight changes (because I have a tendency to start baking/cooking without checking first if I have all the ingredients...) I used 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c non-fat vanilla yogurt and 1/2 c sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar. The texture was perfect, and the cake was super moist. I baked mine for 30 minutes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG this is sooo good! Very easy, and I just used one mixing bowl! When I saw the batter, I was afraid that it was going to be dry, but it was very moist! I did, however, lessen the amount of oil to 1/3 cup, the sugar to 1/2 cup and cinnamon to 1/2 tsp.. it came out perfect! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldisaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
it was tasty and sooooooooo tender and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is a good recipe. The first time around I used a low fat soy oil. BIG MISTAKE. It came out too mushy and couldn't hold shape. I threw almost the whole cake out it was a complete failure. BUT 2nd time I used 3/4 cup of Canola oil which worked well. I used half white half brown sugar. I also sprinkled some extra cinnamon on top, which was a nice touch. I baked it for 40 mins in a 10X14 (aprox) 1" pan. A little difficult to cut, but delicious and will be happy to offer it to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Dreams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Ikebukuro, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This cake was really good! Instead of 1 cup oil I used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup melted butter. I also reduced the sugar by a little over a 1/4 cup using a mix of brown and white sugar and I think I'll use even less next time. The middle of the cake didn't cut very smoothly but the rest held together fine. I baked it in a 9 inch round cast iron pan and so the cooking time was longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
So awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Wow, this was really moist, delicious cake! The cinnamon really added depth and the moisture added by the apple was so good. I will make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
AMAZING!!!! Even after my attempts at making it a little healthy!!! I used wholemeal SR flour as well as the baking soda. I substituted half a cup of applesauce for half a cup of oil and cut out about half a cut of sugar. Really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Brasser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this for the youth group at my church and it was literally gone in less that 2 minutes. One of the students actually picked up the dish it was in and licked it. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States