Apple Cake and Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I was looking to replace an apple cake recipe I had lost when I found this. the butter sauce sold me on trying it. I added an extra apple as well as 1 cup chopped pecans and about 1/2 cup raisins. baked in a square pan at 325 for 50 minutes. came out purrrr-fect. poured the hot sauce over it and let it soak in and served it hot. it was very much like bread pudding. next time I think I will use a rum sauce (substitute imitation rum for vanilla) a new family favorite for sure. thank you for a great recioe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Followed recipe with the exception of using a cake pan instead of a pie pan and loved it. Got raves reviews from family. Like others I halved the sauce and used brown sugar, which made a divine caramel sauce. This cake is moist as is and very easy to throw together. This will be a regular at my house. My mouth is watering now just remembering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is very good! It's very moist and flavorful. It did take more time than I wanted due to having to grate the apples but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Made for my yoga class Christmas potluck, and it got RAVES!!! I used half AP flour and half whole-wheat; half white and half brown sugar. I also roughly chopped my apples (used 2 Galas) because I like texture, which worked well. The sauce, well . . . I'd cut the sugar down, as it was VERY sweet, but we just drizzled a bit onto each slice. I think a shot of rum to the sauce would be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly. I thought the cake had too much all spice taste, and it seemed too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
We really liked this cake! I followed the recipe, except added about 1/2 c. of freshly made applesauce (my neighbor gave me a bucket of apples.....I had lots of apples to use up!). Also used a 9" square glass baking dish (lightly sprayed) and baked for 40 minutes instead of the 50 mentioned in recipe. It was moist and ohh so tasty! Didn't do the butter topping. Didn't need it. It was great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Give this one a try. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Henrikson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Mmmm! The warm sauce was such a treat! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Huge success!! The sauce made too much and I cut the amount by half! My husband, who isn't a sweets person, LOOOOVED this cake. It is dense and like bread pudding. This might be my new signature dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Skipped the sauce, used gala apples, baked in a 9x9 glass pan. Turned out great. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Awesome!! Everyone loved it! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States