Apple Butter with Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I'd make this again in a heartbeat! I did as the other suggested and used a quarter of the amount of allspice and cloves and half the amount of cinnamon. I made two batches (both tripled) and found the first batch to have way to much liquid so I added more apples the second time around. I still had to drain some of the liquid before pouring into my jars. I'd cut back a bit on the cider next time OR use more apples. I used a combination of Gala and Fuji apples and this recipe has a delicious flavor. My family and neighbors thank you!!! The honey is the perfect ingredient, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Double the apples and cut the spices in half. Cook with the lid ajar to allow some of the steam off. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I used Golden Delicious because I had them left over and I used more than the recipe said, because of the reviews. I also used a little less liquid and should probably have cut it down by more (a cup instead of half a cup). I still had to strain it a little. I also used only half the spices and only 1/4 of a cup of honey and it is still very good, not overly spiced. I also simply used my hand mixer to blend the apples, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I picked this recipe because I wanted to make a sugar-free apple butter. I used pancake syrup made with "Splenda" instead of honey. It worked great except it was a little too spicy. Next time I will cut down on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Everyone at my home loved this recipe and I plan to make it for Holiday gifts this year. It took a while to cook, but not long to cool in fridge. The review prior to mine is correct: I'd cut down on the spices next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I like the flavor of the apple butter and I really like the fact that it doesn't use sugar. My only issue and the reason i gave four stars instead of five was that it is a little to thin. I think next time I make this I will use 2 cups of cider instead of three. Has a great flavor though and you would never know there isn't any sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe is overall a good recipe, however the spices about blew me away. WAY too much cloves and allspice, I would suggest, as others have, to reduce to about 1/4 of the recommended amount. (Even less if you grind your own spices like I do.) I wish I had read those comments before I made it! It's edible, but a in small amounts, LOL! I agree that the honey gives a it great flavor, though, and I will make this again with less cloves and allspice, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is delicious!!! I followed other suggestions and used twice the apples and less spices. This is the best apple butter honey I have ever had and will taste great in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by santitam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
First time I made Apple Butter and it was delicious!~ I had some honey apple cider (some taiwanese brand), only added the apples and cinnamon (no extra honey needed because it was sweet enough already) and it's great and feels healthy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very first batch of apple butter, and the recipe was just perfect (no white sugar), and so very easy to make. Apples fresh off our tree were used. Peeled and cored enough apples, then pressed enough juice to make the butter. This recipe made slightly more than 1 quart. The tree is done for the year so I'm eagerly waiting to use some locally-grown apples this Autumn and make more of this delicious apple butter for homemade gifts this Christmas season. Better than storebought and very simple! This is a keeper for sure and for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States