Apple Butter with Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe is overall a good recipe, however the spices about blew me away. WAY too much cloves and allspice, I would suggest, as others have, to reduce to about 1/4 of the recommended amount. (Even less if you grind your own spices like I do.) I wish I had read those comments before I made it! It's edible, but a in small amounts, LOL! I agree that the honey gives a it great flavor, though, and I will make this again with less cloves and allspice, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Double the apples and cut the spices in half. Cook with the lid ajar to allow some of the steam off. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very first batch of apple butter, and the recipe was just perfect (no white sugar), and so very easy to make. Apples fresh off our tree were used. Peeled and cored enough apples, then pressed enough juice to make the butter. This recipe made slightly more than 1 quart. The tree is done for the year so I'm eagerly waiting to use some locally-grown apples this Autumn and make more of this delicious apple butter for homemade gifts this Christmas season. Better than storebought and very simple! This is a keeper for sure and for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I followed this recipe pretty exact prepared to make changes after I let it all set for a day. But it was perfect!! I was so surprised that the spices were as I liked them! I will definately make it again perhaps without the honey since I juiced the red delicious apples myself to make the cider and it naturally is sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I did a half-batch, so I used 1-1/4 cups apple cider, 2 large Jonagold apples, 2 TBS honey, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, and a couple pinches of cloves, nutmeg, and allspice. After only 15 minutes of simmering, the apples were getting pretty mushy, so I mashed them a bit with a spoon, and cooked them for another 20 minutes before adding the other ingredients. One piece of advice if you notice there's too much liquid: Take the lid off the pot! Step 2 says to cover and simmer, yes, but if you uncover it, some of the liquid will evaporate. :) I left the lid off for 15 minutes and it was nice and thick. Also, I wanted my apple butter to be smooth, so I used an emersion blender to get rid of lumps. A regular blender or a food processor would work well too! Thanks for sharing, Jeania! It was a little too sweet, but it may have been my choice of apples. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Very good. I used Gala apples which are my favorite! This is a great sugar free recipe. I added a little less spice than it called for, and it was just right. I tend to like things on the spicy side too. Will give this as hostess gifts and make every year. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was terrific! I love that it doesn't have all the sugar that most the other recipes have. My whole family enjoyed it. My daughter would probably eat it all of it if I'd let her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I used Golden Delicious because I had them left over and I used more than the recipe said, because of the reviews. I also used a little less liquid and should probably have cut it down by more (a cup instead of half a cup). I still had to strain it a little. I also used only half the spices and only 1/4 of a cup of honey and it is still very good, not overly spiced. I also simply used my hand mixer to blend the apples, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I'd make this again in a heartbeat! I did as the other suggested and used a quarter of the amount of allspice and cloves and half the amount of cinnamon. I made two batches (both tripled) and found the first batch to have way to much liquid so I added more apples the second time around. I still had to drain some of the liquid before pouring into my jars. I'd cut back a bit on the cider next time OR use more apples. I used a combination of Gala and Fuji apples and this recipe has a delicious flavor. My family and neighbors thank you!!! The honey is the perfect ingredient, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Everyone at my home loved this recipe and I plan to make it for Holiday gifts this year. It took a while to cook, but not long to cool in fridge. The review prior to mine is correct: I'd cut down on the spices next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States