Apple Butter the Easy Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was awesome!! Perfect consistency and great taste! I didn't use the microwave, though. I put everything in a pot, cooked it for 30 minutes, transferred it to the blender and blended and finally put it back in the pot and let it simmer for about 5 more minutes. It came out beautifully! Goes great with Popeye's biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burnius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I added same amount of molasses as maple syrup to thicken it up a bit, turned out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wes Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This worked great in a pinch thank you! I was making a muffin recipe and I needed 1/4 cup of apple butter. I didn't want to run out to the store or spend $6 dollars on a jar, for such a small amount. I did a search and found this recipe. I wish I could say I followed this recipe exactly, but saw other reviewers had trouble that did. I only needed 1/4 cup, so I changed the serving size to 2. I didn't feel like spending 15 minutes at the microwave so I just started with applesauce. I used Motts Healthy Harvest granny smith apples applesauce. It took almost 1 of the serving sized cups, that can be purchased at the grocery store in the packs. I mixed the maple syrup in after measuring out the apple sauce. Then, when I went to add the cinnamon, I thought apple pie spice just seemed closer to what I know would be in apple butter. I even accidentally doubled the amount and it worked fine. I would even suggest that. I heated it in a small glass bowl, covered with plastic wrap, and I started out with 1 1/2 minutes on high in a small microwave and it seemed thick enough to me. I let it cool and used it in the muffin recipe. Saved me time and money today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Had really high hopes for this recipe as we love apple butter. Unfortunately the maple taste combined with the cinnamon threw off the taste buds--it didn't do anything for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I used apple pie spice instead of cinnamon--I made no other changes. Not a bad apple butter, I liked the flavor that the maple syrup gave to the apple butter, I just think it could be a little better. I'd make this again but I'd play with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Good, quick, easy, and tasty recipe. I don't really have the time to sit there and slow cook for 12 hours so this recipe worked great. However, I did not use the microwave. Just boiled the ingredients for 30 mins, threw it in the blender, than boiled for another 30 mins. I call it apple jutter, because its more like jelly than butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Not bad at all. tatsed really good. Added Apple juice. If you don't have a blender, don't try this recipie. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
We made this at school for a pre kindergarten class. Easy, fast, tasty and inexpensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Didn't need to heat it quite as much as it said. Very basic recipe. Will definitely make again, will variate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Extremly good and easy to make. one of the family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States