Apple Butter the Easy Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This worked great in a pinch thank you! I was making a muffin recipe and I needed 1/4 cup of apple butter. I didn't want to run out to the store or spend $6 dollars on a jar, for such a small amount. I did a search and found this recipe. I wish I could say I followed this recipe exactly, but saw other reviewers had trouble that did. I only needed 1/4 cup, so I changed the serving size to 2. I didn't feel like spending 15 minutes at the microwave so I just started with applesauce. I used Motts Healthy Harvest granny smith apples applesauce. It took almost 1 of the serving sized cups, that can be purchased at the grocery store in the packs. I mixed the maple syrup in after measuring out the apple sauce. Then, when I went to add the cinnamon, I thought apple pie spice just seemed closer to what I know would be in apple butter. I even accidentally doubled the amount and it worked fine. I would even suggest that. I heated it in a small glass bowl, covered with plastic wrap, and I started out with 1 1/2 minutes on high in a small microwave and it seemed thick enough to me. I let it cool and used it in the muffin recipe. Saved me time and money today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I used sugar instead of maple syrup and it worked fine for me. very quick, easy and tasty too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Extremly good and easy to make. one of the family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Didn't need to heat it quite as much as it said. Very basic recipe. Will definitely make again, will variate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
We made this at school for a pre kindergarten class. Easy, fast, tasty and inexpensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Not bad at all. tatsed really good. Added Apple juice. If you don't have a blender, don't try this recipie. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
its a great quick and easy side dish and it tast great !!!!!!!!!!!!! xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Good, quick, easy, and tasty recipe. I don't really have the time to sit there and slow cook for 12 hours so this recipe worked great. However, I did not use the microwave. Just boiled the ingredients for 30 mins, threw it in the blender, than boiled for another 30 mins. I call it apple jutter, because its more like jelly than butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I used apple pie spice instead of cinnamon--I made no other changes. Not a bad apple butter, I liked the flavor that the maple syrup gave to the apple butter, I just think it could be a little better. I'd make this again but I'd play with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Had really high hopes for this recipe as we love apple butter. Unfortunately the maple taste combined with the cinnamon threw off the taste buds--it didn't do anything for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States