Apple Butter Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
good basic coffee cake. made it just as written but split into 2 cakes by baking in twin aluminum pie pans. baked for 45 minutes. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
We drowned ours with ice cream and then it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is a keeper! I used bran flakes for the cereal and chopped almonds instead of pecans (what I had in the house). This is perfect to make for office gatherings, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is such a good recipe! I made this a while back for a senior citizen center, and everyone raved about it. My husband absolutely loves this, too. It's a really good way to use up apple butter, too. I substitute different things like oat bran for the wheat bran, or walnuts for the pecans if I need to. It still turns out really good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This cake is wonderful, albeit a little dry. Perhaps reduce the bran cereal by a 1/4 cup, and maybe increase the sour cream by 1/4 cup. That is the only reason I am giving this recipe 4 stars instead of 5. The flavor is wonderful. It is a very comforting cake. On my mom's last birthday she was alive, she requested a spice cake and this is the one I made. She loved it. Very fond memories with her and this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This turned out amazing. I had some apple butter I wanted to use up and I actually wound up buying more apple butter because I kept having people ask me to make it for them. Its pretty quick and easy. I also experimented with it a little and added caramel pieces as I baked it to give it an added flavor (and use up some other ingredients I had laying around).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniLee1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I enjoyed this cake a lot. Very easy and quick to make. I didn't need a 13X9 cake, so I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a smaller square pan. Like others, I didn't have any bran cereal or wheat germ so I subbed in rolled oats with no discernible difference. I also cut back on the sugar a bit. A flavorful, moist cake I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So comforting. I added chopped apples, but other than that, kept everything the same. I think that next time, I'd like to try switching out the sour cream for some strawberry flavored yogurt, just to save on calories, and also, although this cake is super good, I can taste the sour cream, and I'd rather taste yogurt. This is a keeper, though. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this per the recipe so I could give it a fair rating and it was delicious. Very moist and tasty. Definately a keeper and a great fall recipe. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I love this recipe, especially because my picky eater Husband loves it. I did make some adjustments based on what I had on hand. I used a 6oz carton of light vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream and I used old fashioned oats in place of the wheat germ. The cake came out delicious and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States