Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
It was a very good pie, don't get me wrong, but I was really wanting it taste more pumpkin'y. The apple butter just provided too much flavor to it, I think. Maybe if you were to add more pumpkin and a little less apple butter it would taste better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Why do I do this to myself? I like traditional pumpkin pie, so I try this recipe for our Harvest Festival at church???? I didn't like the texture, the flavor of nutmeg, or the topping. Sometimes you just have to stick with something you know. This recipe goes in file 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used crabapple butter instead and substituted 8oz cream cheese for evaporated milk. The pie was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I won secon place in a pie contest with this pie........the best pumkin pie I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLARSO02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this as originally written and it was very good. I found myself with pumpkin and canned milk left over but not enough for another pie. So, I mixed them with an egg, a dollop or two of apple butter, 3-4 Tbs of sugar and/or honey. a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. I cooked this in a saucepan into a sort of pudding. Then, remembering a dessert my mother used to make, I stirred 3.6 oz (single serving container) of Haagen Daas Dulce de Leche ice cream (vanilla would be good too) into the cooled pumpkin pudding, and froze it. A very yummy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I was excited to bake this pie because I love pumpkin and apple butter. Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. I could not get used to the strange taste. I think the pumpkin was overpowered; perhaps adding a 1/2 cup of pumkin and decreasing the apple butter by the same amount would improve the taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very delicious! This was a hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This pie was good, but will not replace my "regular" pumpkin pie. The one person in our family that doesn't care for pumpkin pie thought it was great, but everyone that loves pumpkin pie thought it was good, but not as good as my usual pumpkin pie. I'll make this one again, but not to replace my usual pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
this is AWESOME! i used the pumpkin apple butter and a gingersnap crust and it just was FANTASTIC. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shan
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Made this as stated. I was not a fan of the topping. As a pie it tasted just OK. Out of the 6 of us, 5 liked regular pumpkin pie better. I probably will not make again. Revised: the day after, after being refrigerated this pie tasted realy good. If I make this again I'd make it a couple day ahead and put in the fridge until serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States