Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Made exactly as written. (And really, if you are going to rate a recipe, shouldn't that be a requirement?!) I was really disappointed! I REALLY wanted to like this recipe. I was hoping for a pumpkin pie that was jazzed up a little. Unfortunately, the apple butter completely overpowered the pumpkin. It didn't taste like pumpkin pie at all. I suppose if you are wanting something that isn't like a pumpkin pie this would work. I'm going to be going back to my old standby--the recipe from the back of the pumpkin can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levelland, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Delicious recipe! I made this and it was a hit. The most common compliment I received was "Wow, I've never tasted anything like that before!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it is very good for something a little different. However, if you are hankering for just plain old-fashioned pumpkin pie, save this recipe for another day. It is a delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
It was just OK... I used an apple butter from a local farm that didn't have all the added sugar of the store-bought variety. Maybe that made a difference. It looked beautiful but was too spicy and not very sweet. It wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I made my own apple butter and puree my own sugar pie pumpkins to go into it. Only problem I have with this recipe is that if the pie shell isn't cooked prior to putting the filling in it will be slightly raw. Best thing to do is fully cook the shell and then put the filling in. Once I figured this out it was the absolute best pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this tonight for a thanksgiving get together- and it was very good! I followed a previous reviewer's advice and put apple in the streusel topping to make it taste more apple-y, and it turned out well, and gave it a little crunch. My streusel was too buttery, so I don't think it was quite as crumbly as it was supposed to be, but it was still delicious- and the pumpkin apple flavor was very yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I baked it in a toaster/convection oven with foil over the crust and it came out perfect! I can't wait to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was a really easy recipe to follow, and a popular one too! I made this for a few friends and both pies went. Although, I'm trying it again tonight, since I personally wasn't very happy with the taste. It felt like it needed a bit more sugar, and I didn't like the streusel topping. So I'll be using a variation for topping- just cinnamon and nutmeg, and a little pecan design, with whipped cream in the middle, and just a little bit more of brown sugar&spices. Nonetheless, like I said, a very easy and satisfying recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! Although the streusal topping was completely unnecessary. It would have been amazing without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States