Apple Butter Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
There is an obvious error in this recipe that has been noted by many other reviewers that has to be mentioned. You would not cook a pork tenderloin for 3 hours as stated. They need about 20-30 minutes per pound. If you take this into consideration, this recipe is really good. I followed the recipe as directed except I only baked it for about 1/2 hour, then poured off about 1/2 of the apple juice and then covered the meat with the apple butter mixture and baked about another 45 minutes to an hour at the most. After it was done, I sliced the meat, plated it and drizzled just a bit of the cooking sauce over it. The meat picks up so much of the flavor. Everyone just loved it. I served it with Cheesy Mashed Potatoes and acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
730 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This was really good! My husband and our dinner guest both loved this dish, as did I. The apple butter and the spice complemented the pork nicely....pork seems to beg for fruit. ***One note I will make about this recipe....The cooking time indicates that the recipe is actually for a boneless pork *loin*, not a pork *tenderloin*. I work in a meat market and people refer to pork *loins* as *tenderloins* quite frequently. They are actually two different cuts of meat, the *LOIN* is from outside the curve of the rib bone and the *tenderloin* is from the inside of the curve of the rib bone. A pork *loin* when sliced will yield slices that are roughly 3" by 5". A pork *tenderloin* will yield slices slightly larger in diameter than a silver dollar. A whole pork *tenderloin* will cook in 35-40 minutes at 350 degrees. If you cooked a *tenderloin* for the time stated in the recipe you'd wind up with a weapon, not a roast. Sorry to sound so preachy...this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim East Koontz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This was fabulous! I put a 2.5 pound roast in the crock pot and then dumped all the other ingredients on top. An hour before it was ready, I added a cornstarch/water mix that made a great, thick gravy (to me, it made the dish). After 6 hours on high, I needed a spoon to get the loin out of the pot because it was fall-apart tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I put everything plus a sliced apple in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. I then took the roast out and sliced it. I reduced the juices on the stovetop and added 1 tsp. of corn starch to make a gravy, which I served with mashed potatoes. Very yummy, and oh-so-easy with the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This recipe produced a very flavorful pork tenderloin. I used apple cider instead of juice, and a disposable roasting pan (easy clean up!). Based on the reviews, I cooked at a reduced temp of 300, adding the apple butter mixture after about an hour (internal temp was around 110). By the 2 hour mark, the temp had reached 170 and was quickly shooting past...the center-cut slices were still quite juicy but the end cuts bordered on dry. I'll need to watch more carefully next time. I made a gravy with the remaining cider/drippings -- to make, pour what remains from roasting pan into a saucepan, whisk in a cornstarch/water mix (dissolving cornstarch seperately first helps prevent lumps, start with about 4 Tbs cornstarch) and bring to a boil over med-high heat, whisking constantly until thickened, adding more cornstarch if needed to achieve desired consistency. I never expected it but the gravy is what made this recipe a hit with my guests - it's a tremendous flavor booster and helps band-aid any dry slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I made this pork loin for a Sunday dinner for my new in-laws. It turned out GREAT! I did marinate the pork loin in the apple juice, with the apple butter mixture on top, overnight. I baked it in a 350 degree oven for 90 minutes. It was great while company was here because I could take it out of the refrigerator and throw it into the oven. The pork was very, very moist! It has a nice spicy flavor that was not too overpowering but it was just enough. I've added this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
The whole family loved it. I wouldn't change one thing. I did try this recipe in a slow cooker and it was just a great as in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I love pork loin, and this was a great way to make it. I made the same amount of sauce, but only cooked one 2.6 lb piece of meat. I put the sauce on before I put the meat in the oven, rather than waiting part way through the cooking. Because of the smaller meat size, I only cooked it a little over an hour (for pork loin, I always figure on 30 minutes per pound).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
There's an error in the baking time- the summary shows "four hours" while the text shows 3 hours. I don't think this recipe requires even 3 hours. A 1 1/2 pound tenderloin in my area comes in two pieces. I baked for 2 tenderloins (4 pieces, total weight 3.75 pounds) two hours total and it came out fully cooked and juicy. While I didn't make gravy from the cooking juices, I think it would be an excellent base and would be wonderful over mashed potatoes. This recipe is very easy- great when you are busy on a Sunday getting ready for the work week. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Hi all, I'm the author of this recipe. Sorry for the confusion on the baking time. Believe it or not, I DO use tenderloin (oops on the title) and I DO bake it for the time I specified. I, however, like pork to be overcooked and completely falling apart in the juices. I should have specified that less time could be used. I aplogize; this was my first contribution to this site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States