Apple Butter Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is fantastic! I had to make a few changes though because I couldn't find pork tenderloin at the store (they were out.) I used Pork Sirloin roast instead and cooked it covered in the oven at 225 for 3 hours (It was 3.5lbs) I marinated the pork overnight in apple cider (instead of apple juice), brown sugar, cinnamon and cloves). I did everything else in the recipe as directed, just substituting the apple juice with apple cider. This is by far the BEST meal I have ever made. I live currently in a generational home (grandmother, mother, brother, uncle and my husband) and everyone was RAVING about how great it was. It was so tender. Also, I made gravy from the drippings. It was FANTASTIC! You have to make the gravy, it makes something that is already great into something amazing! I'm making it again tomorrow for a friend. I'm sure it will be just as great this time. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was delicious. Seriously, I had read all the good reviews and it still exceeded my expectations. What a great recipe. Cook as others recommended. The best strategy that was recommended was add apple juice/seasoned salt. Cook for 30 minutes at 350. Add the remaining sauce, cook for ~45 minutes to an hour at 350. Delicious. I served over egg noodles and poured the extra apple juice mixture on it, tasted pretty dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I cooked it in the crockpot all day and it came out really tender. Had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was so delicious I cant even describe it! I did adjust the cooking time, I put just the loin in the oven for 30 minutes with just the apple juice in the bottom and then after 30 minutes I put the apple butter glaze on it and cooked for an additional 1 1/2. I had 4 lbs of pork loin.Great recipie and blew my family away. Husband Loved it along with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I enjoyed this. I used a 1.5 lb pork loin, and I thought it turned out great. My son was a little squeamish about the apple butter, but he did eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I thought this would be the perfect recipe as my husband loves apple butter and I had some on hand that was made by his family. I cooked it in the crockpot as many other did. Very moist and smelled great. I thought the taste was good, but husband and kids didn't. Apparently, they don't like the sweet with the savory. Also I found, the flavor didn't really go into the meat, but stayed more on top. So won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
After all of the confusion about cooking time here is what I did. 1. Baked a 1.5 lb. pork tenderloin for 1 hour at 350 and cut ingredients in half. 2. Seasoned the pork with a mixture of S&P, garlic, and red pepper. A little bit of spicy worked nicely with the very sweet topping 3. Poured in 1 cup apple juice and baked covered for 30 minutes. 4. Removed cover and spread apple butter mixture on pork. I did not add the cloves to the apple butter mixture because I didn't realize I was out of them, but the apple butter had some in it already and it worked out fine. 5. Recovered pork and baked for another 15 minutes. Removed cover and finished cooking uncovered for the last 15 minutes 6. Removed pork from pan and used juices to make a sauce. 7. Made the sauce by adding a slurry of 2 teaspoons cornstarch mixed with 2 teaspoons water to the juice and brought to a boil to thicken and then drizzled over sliced tenderloin. I really liked it the dish and husband said he would eat it again. Might use a little less brown sugar last time as apple butter is already very sweet! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was excellent! I am saving this recipe for sure. It made my house smell so wonderful, and it got rave reviews from my picky husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I looked at the feedback from others in the comment section. What I did is changed to an hour at 325 degrees, added the apple butter mixture like regular, and cooked another 2 hours at 300 degrees. It cooked through just fine but, sadly, was a little dry. I think if I start out at 300 degrees, then add the mixture, and cut back to maybe 250-275 degrees for the next two hours it might turn out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is one of the best pork loin recipes I have ever eaten. I followed the recipe exactly except for the timing I used Valeries kitchen for that and even made the side dishes she suggested. The entire meal could not have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States