Apple Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
so easy to make and really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! This is the best apple butter i've ever had. And the comment dissing using applesauce instead of 'homemade' was uncalled for. Just someone with a superiority complex. This product is incredible. I didn't change a thing and it was tart/tangy/sweet/mouthwatering. You won't regret trying this. And yes, the suggestion of stirring every 45 min. in from the corners helped alot. Thanks for this recipe diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
YUMMY!! I thought I would not like it by the way it looks, but it is fantastic. Light and sweet. This is the perfect breakfast jam. It makes the house smell wonderful. I did not have white vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar. I will use this to make apple butter pork loin which is from this site. Thanks for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I omitted the cloves as I didn't have them. I also didn't have vinegar, so I used bottled lemon juice instead. Definitely need to cut down on the sugar by at least 3/4 of a cup, but otherwise nearly perfect. You can tell the texture is a little 'off' from your normally smooth apple butter, but the taste is beyond amazing. I jarred and froze some for later. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My husband loved this recipe. I will be making another batch today. I did make some changes. I use less sweetener and I also used 1/2 splenda brown sugar and 1/2 regular brown sugar. This time, I'm going to try using splenda only as the sweetener since our family has a lot of diabetics. This will be a welcome additon to my basket of homemade birthday/christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Dumpling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
WOW! This is really, really good and so easy! I didn't change a thing except I cooked it uncovered in my slow cooker (on high). Made the house smell amazing! I may never buy apple butter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I only wanted a small quantity so this recipe caught my eye. I had already made unsweetened applesauce, so I used about 24 oz of that, added a scant 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 3 tbs cider vinegar, the cloves, cinnamon and 1/4 tsp allspice. After 2 1/2 hours baking it was still not close to the right consistence, so I turned the oven down to 300 and let it bake for another 2 1/2 hours. The result was heavenly. Thanks for the idea of baking apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this apple butter and gave as a simple gift for people who helped with my parents 50th wedding anniversary. Wonderful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Yum! I had to cook this a little longer, but I was using homemade applesauce, so it might have been a little more watery. Either way, this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was great - I've never had apple butter before but will definitely be making it again. I cut the recipe in half and it made a great hostess gift for Thanksgiving, with a little left over for home! Thanks, I'll make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States