Apple Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
so easy to make and really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! This is the best apple butter i've ever had. And the comment dissing using applesauce instead of 'homemade' was uncalled for. Just someone with a superiority complex. This product is incredible. I didn't change a thing and it was tart/tangy/sweet/mouthwatering. You won't regret trying this. And yes, the suggestion of stirring every 45 min. in from the corners helped alot. Thanks for this recipe diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
YUMMY!! I thought I would not like it by the way it looks, but it is fantastic. Light and sweet. This is the perfect breakfast jam. It makes the house smell wonderful. I did not have white vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar. I will use this to make apple butter pork loin which is from this site. Thanks for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I omitted the cloves as I didn't have them. I also didn't have vinegar, so I used bottled lemon juice instead. Definitely need to cut down on the sugar by at least 3/4 of a cup, but otherwise nearly perfect. You can tell the texture is a little 'off' from your normally smooth apple butter, but the taste is beyond amazing. I jarred and froze some for later. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My husband loved this recipe. I will be making another batch today. I did make some changes. I use less sweetener and I also used 1/2 splenda brown sugar and 1/2 regular brown sugar. This time, I'm going to try using splenda only as the sweetener since our family has a lot of diabetics. This will be a welcome additon to my basket of homemade birthday/christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Dumpling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
WOW! This is really, really good and so easy! I didn't change a thing except I cooked it uncovered in my slow cooker (on high). Made the house smell amazing! I may never buy apple butter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I only wanted a small quantity so this recipe caught my eye. I had already made unsweetened applesauce, so I used about 24 oz of that, added a scant 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 3 tbs cider vinegar, the cloves, cinnamon and 1/4 tsp allspice. After 2 1/2 hours baking it was still not close to the right consistence, so I turned the oven down to 300 and let it bake for another 2 1/2 hours. The result was heavenly. Thanks for the idea of baking apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this apple butter and gave as a simple gift for people who helped with my parents 50th wedding anniversary. Wonderful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Yum! I had to cook this a little longer, but I was using homemade applesauce, so it might have been a little more watery. Either way, this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was great - I've never had apple butter before but will definitely be making it again. I cut the recipe in half and it made a great hostess gift for Thanksgiving, with a little left over for home! Thanks, I'll make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States