Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is yummy, but I will say I use it more like a "suggestion" than a recipe. I fill my large crockpot with about 15-20 medium apples, peeled, cored and chopped. Then, I add 3 cups sugar, 3 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, and a dash of salt. Cook it for 10-12 hours, blend, and pour into jars. I don't can/preserve it, just refrigerate--it goes so fast, it's not around for long! I think the original recipe would have been way to sweet--and would have made too little! Fill that crockpot, make it worth your time--makes the house smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This was a great recipe in thought. I'm really glad I read the reviews first. I cut the sugar in half. I also cut the cinnamon in half with the second batch and found it better, 4tsp is just TOO over powering. The concept of the slowcooker was perfect the amount of cooking time was perfect. My family can't get enough of MY version. I hope others will try this recipe and do it to their tastes. It's better than jam thanks for inspiring me with this recipe. Cheers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This sure was easy. And no burns from superheated liquid splatters like when I made apple butter on the stove. I used 12 medium apples and 3 cups of sugar. Nearly filled my 3 quart crock pot in the beginning. I also added 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/8 teaspoon allspice. I removed the lid for the last couple hours to help thicken. Processed in a BWB for 10 minutes in half-pint jars. Tasted plenty sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Fantastic !! I added 1/2 tsp allspice and substituted 2 cups brown sugar for 2 of the white and at the 6 hour mark I added 1/4 cup of aged balsamic vinegar !!!! then used the stick blender, as suggested in another review. It was easy and fool proof as it was but for that extra "gourmet" feel go with the vinegar !!. Just a side note i served it warm over grilled pork chops, even the kids went nuts over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROYANDMISSY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This recipe has quickly become a family and gift giving favorite. I use a half red, cooking apples and half granny smiths. Then a stick blender toward the end of the process, kick up the heat to high again, just to get rid of any extra moisture. So delicious. Mini mason jars do the trick for gifts. Not sure how long it lasts (safely). But, I actually like it after it has been opened for a couple weeks (less sweet). Will probably just use less sugar next batch, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This recipe is so easy and so yummy! I made it in a few hours as my crockpot seems to work a lot faster than the norm. I boiled for 1 hour on high, stirred and let it cook on low for several hours while I made supper and went about my day. I did throw it into the blender and was worried about the consistancy, but after canning and leaving overnight, it was perfect. This has to be the best apple butter I have ever tasted. Used tart green apples and it came out perfect, not to sweet or over-powering - apple butter IS meant to go on toast. People that complained about the sweetness must be eating it right from the jar. Would have liked a more in depth explanation on how to store unused jars - refridgerate? cold room? Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Too too sweet for my family! I got my own recipe for this one and the family very happy with mine. Its a good recipe for the people who love sweet things. I put mine in the freezer.Up to nine months. The recipe did not say how to store the Apple Butter this is importain to the people who make it for the frist time. Or forgot how to make the Apple Butter. Need more information for keeping the product and how.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Way too much cinnamon. Also I didn't use any sugar, just a 1/2 cup of huney. I also used a few more apples. Very good with just a little less cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Great recipe! I love apple butter and have always made applesauce first than added my spices but I fellowed this recipe and it turned out wonderfully. I did let mine cook in the crockpot overnight and a whole day, just for the smell mainly. I was a bit nervous cause I thought it might be a bit to watery but after I processed it in my food processer it was perfect. It made 4pint jars. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I COULDN'T BELIEVE THE SWEET HOMEY SMELL I HAD IN MY HOUSE. BUT WHEN I TASTED IT WOW. DELICIOUS! WILL MAKE OVER AND OVER AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States